Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Bouldering for Beginners

My dad and youngest brother left yesterday after enjoying a most lovely weekend with me.  I’m missing them already.  And, I’m returning to feel woefully behind on blogging!  I hope to get caught up soon, it feels like a bit of my social life has fallen away.  So I’ll be responding to comments this week, I promise.

With that, I wanted to share one of the fun adventures from the weekend.  My “little” brother, DJ, arrived before my dad so J and I decided to take him down to Seattle for a day of bouldering at one of my favorite spots – Seattle Bouldering Project.

DJ got to experience a taste of rock climbing when he came to visit me last summer.  But SBP opened up a new world for him.  And J hasn’t done any rock climbing as of yet.  They both loved it!  I had such a great time teaching them the ropes (no pun intended because hey, we don’t use ropes for bouldering).

I’ve talked about SBP in a previous post.  It’s a great spot to start out as a beginning or get a good training session in if you’re a veteran climber.  All ages and all skill levels welcome!  I showed the guys how to spot route, proper technique for climbing, where to start on the wall.  It was a blast!

A few short hours later forearms were pumped out all around, sweat was dripping down our backs, and skin had been scraped off of hands.  It was a good day!  J and I have plans to go back next weekend and bring some of his friends along for their introduction to bouldering!

14 comments on “Bouldering for Beginners

  1. whatimeant2say
    June 6, 2012

    Wow! I wish we had a place like that here!

    • Audrey
      June 7, 2012

      Think Dimples would be up for it? Maybe there’s a climbing gym near you guys?

  2. Curly Carly
    June 6, 2012

    Rock climbing is one of the best workouts I’ve ever had. It’s amazing how it works muscles you didn’t even know you had.

    Glad you got to spend time with your family!

    • Audrey
      June 7, 2012

      Seriously, such a good workout! J was saying the same thing, I think he envisions having sailor arms by the end of the summer. You do any more climbing lately?

      • Curly Carly
        June 8, 2012

        I’ve only done it a few times back in high school. I’d like to try it again though.

  3. ethelthedean
    June 6, 2012

    Love it! So glad to hear you finished off a stellar visit with something everybody enjoyed 🙂

    I always look forward to reading about your adventures.
    xx

    • Audrey
      June 7, 2012

      Thank you, Sweets! Yes, it was so much fun, we made some great memories. 🙂
      Hey, I’m right there with you, love reading about all the fun and glamour that you experience too. Life is good!

  4. The Blazing Trail
    June 7, 2012

    So breathtakingly inspiring!

    • Audrey
      June 7, 2012

      Thank you! And thanks for stopping by. Bouldering is such a fun sport!

  5. captainariel
    June 7, 2012

    I really wanna do this with you! Haha

    • Audrey
      June 7, 2012

      I have a feeling you’d love it!

  6. The Byronic Man
    June 7, 2012

    I actually might like bouldering more than climbing. Is that weird?

    • Audrey
      June 7, 2012

      Not weird at all, it’s so fun plus doesn’t require as much gear as rock climbing so less expensive. And you don’t have to learn to belay or trust your life to a crazy belayer. Just be careful, it’s an entry sport to the wide world of climbing – you could get hooked! 🙂

Leave a Reply

