Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

A Speakeasy, a Charity Dinner, and a Flat Tire

This weekend was jam-packed full of adventure – so much so that I’m still recovering from the lack of sleep.  It was worth it!

I’ll preface by saying that I have a man in my life, “J”.  We met up after work Friday to visit some of his friends in Seattle and had a blast!  J’s best friend and friend’s wife took us to the Knee High Stocking Company, a bar in the style of a Prohibition-era speakeasy.  Classy, with a vintage bohemian flair, they served up some very tasty drinks and created the perfect atmosphere for chatting with new friends.  I wish I had taken pictures.

Saturday afternoon it was back to Bellingham after a delicious brunch.  There was sunshine aplenty and a perfectly relaxing weekend vibe to the day.  And then we were off to a charity auction and dinner, more time with friends, more fantastic food, and a walk along the harbor to finish off the evening.

Sunday I ended up doing the test-ride for my Ski to Sea road bike route.  Over 40 miles of road in the pouring rain had me a bit concerned.  J dropped me off at my starting point, deep in the heart of the Northern Cascades near Mount Baker.  I was feeling good and making decent time.  The down hills were a rush and the uphills kept me warm with my heart pounding.  I was charging down a long stretch of hills and rushing along at 35 mph.  It’s pure adrenaline – knowing that you’re going so fast a small mistake can have disastrous results – the wind, the whir of rubber on pavement, rain water splashing up behind.  But the road was a maze of potholes; they make for a bumpy car ride but a terrifying road bike ride.  I hit one at top speed, bone-jarring, and felt my back tire bottom out.  Metal scraping against pavement isn’t a good sign – and sure enough I had a flat tire.  No cell reception.  My only prayer was that a passing driver would take pity on me  A guy in an over-full sedan stopped when I flagged him down.  There was no way my bike would fit in his car so I just gave him J’s cell and asked if he could call for me when he got into town.  He was kindly obliging.  And just minutes after that, a mini van rolled up and offered to take me as far as Glacier, the nearest (and very tiny) town that still didn’t offer cell reception.  Poor J got the call just as he was getting back to town, had to turn around and come get me.  Adventure?  Yes, it was.  Productive ride? Not so much.  And the weekend?  Well it was pretty fabulous and action-packed!  The training continues!  My race is next Sunday!

So with that, I wish you all a very happy Monday!

What did you do this weekend?

7 comments on “A Speakeasy, a Charity Dinner, and a Flat Tire

  1. thesweetkitten
    May 21, 2012

    Driving around in Germany, stories coming up later this week and next week!

    • Audrey
      May 25, 2012

      I’ve been loving them so far! A few weeks full of adventure for you guys!

  2. ethelthedean
    May 21, 2012

    That bar sounds really cool! The next time we’re in Seattle I know where we will be going. Urg, flat tires are the worst, but I’m glad that it ended up not being too serious.

    You are going to kill it on our race next week – can wait to hear all about it!

    • Audrey
      May 25, 2012

      I have a feeling you’d love it! The drinks are super-stiff so beware… 🙂 Seems like the kind of place that you and M would enjoy!

      Maybe I’ve got all of my flat tires out of the way so I won’t have trouble during the race. Hopeful!

  3. whatimeant2say
    May 22, 2012

    Well, I guess you know what I did this weekend. And it’s pretty sad compared to what you did! I hope you used up all of your bad luck on the test ride, though.

    • Audrey
      May 25, 2012

      Hey, I thought your adventure for the weekend sounded great! Saving a marriage and rescuing yourself from crappy sleep? Sounds like a job for Superwoman to me! 🙂

      And yes, I’m hoping that’s all for the mishaps with the bike now.

  4. Pingback: Ski to Sea Recap « Dangerously Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

