Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Seattle’s Museum of Flight

My youngest brother is coming to visit in two very short weeks.  Euphoria!  My head is full of planning adventures for us.  He’ll be here in time for us to celebrate our birthdays: his 19th is on June 2nd and my 25th is on June 3rd.  The plan?  We’re going skydiving!  More to follow on that…

With the anticipation of his arrival, I’ve been remembering back to some of our past adventures.  One of my favorites was a road trip we made out to the Olympic Peninsula.  We started by heading down to Seattle and checking out the Seattle Aquarium, The Museum of Flight, and a Cirque Du Soleil show.  I think the Museum of Flight was my favorite.  My dad served in the Air Force and I remember looking through his books of planes as a youngster, starry-eyed at the thought of flying so so fast and far!  And being able to see some of these planes in person had me practically giddy with excitement.  DJ laughed at me throughout the day.

The Museum of Flight has exhibits from all aspects of aviation.  They are located right next to Boeing Field and even have the original Boeing factory on-site with some of the machinery and parts that were once used.  Wooden propellers sanded to a satin smoothness, hand saws, mallets, everything was right there in the large red barn.  Plaques told the stories of the first Boeing planes, engineers, and pilots.

There was the Great Gallery with aircraft ranging from out-dated stealth bombers to Alaska bush planes to a vintage DC-10, and even an F-18 cockpit!

My favorite part was walking through the WWII wing.  I’m a WWII history buff, my inner nerd comes out it full force and I spent most of my time geeking out in that section of the museum.  Reading The Battle of Britain probably did me in when I was a kid – the RAF, Spitfires, Mustangs, I love it all!  Poor DJ probably was embarrassed by me oohing and ahing over every little bit of memorabilia (he’s WAY too cool for that).  He was patient with me through it all, even having to stop shots of me with fighter planes every two minutes.

We got to walk through a Concorde, see an F-14 Tomcat, and even a Moon Rover.  And then we were off to the next adventure!

7 comments on “Seattle’s Museum of Flight

  1. ethelthedean
    May 17, 2012

    Cool post lady! Terrific snaps. You two are going to have such a great time! Can’t wait to hear about what you get up to 🙂

    By the way – are you still coming up for TM?

  2. whatimeant2say
    May 17, 2012

    I can’t wait to hear about the skydiving. I’ve always wanted to try it, but I’m resigned to waiting until my daughter makes it through college now before I plummet to my death.

  3. whatimeant2say
    May 17, 2012

    Not that I think you will be death plummeting. I am sure that you will have a great time! Take pics as you glide through the air!

    • Audrey
      May 25, 2012

      Haha, well thank you. I’ll try to avoid the death plummeting part if I can, although that would be a way to go out with a bang… 😉 Just over a week until jump time!

  4. captainariel
    May 18, 2012

    SO jealous! -_-

  5. captainariel
    May 18, 2012

    And it’s funny that you’re a WWII history buff and I’m not considereing where I work! Lol :p :]

    • Audrey
      May 25, 2012

      No kidding! I’ve spent so many hours in the WWII museum researching for school projects, and to feed my own curiosity. 🙂

Leave a Reply

