Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Dreaming By Day

Do you remember day dreaming as a kid, as a teenager, as a college student?  Whether it was borne of boredom in class at school, during a session on the playground swings when you tried to launch into space, or after dislodging your nose from a book and plotting your own adventure – we’ve all given in to day dreaming throughout our lives.

Some of those dreams get changed by reality, when you start a new relationship, when you buy your first house, when you enter a new career.  I know that having a family sometimes means that your own dreams go on hold for a time. But maybe that just means it’s time to reframe your aspirations to fit the context.  Some of those dreams stick with you though.  They’re so strongly rooted that nothing can shake them off.  The heart and mind yearn for those aspirations.

Rock climbing in Central Washington.

The formula for making your aspirations a reality is the same formula you use for anything else that you go out and accomplish.  It starts with defining what you want to do.  What dream gnaws at your waking mind?  We get so much done throughout our days for other people.  Demands from supervisors at work, from family members at home – we do those things because they’re a necessity.  Why shouldn’t your dreams be a necessity too?  They drive and create that life of passion and joy that we long for.  Life has already begun and we only get one to live, so start now.

Spelunking in the Bat Caves.

It can be a struggle some days to pursue those dreams when you still have every day life sapping your energy.  I know that tonight I will go home after working for 10 hours, I will cook dinner for the family, and clean the kitchen when I’m done.  I might also spend one hour of my evening working on my small business because that’s important to me, or I may go for a trail run along the beautiful Chuckanut Mountains and snap some shots of the San Juan Islands along the way because that’s my joy and lifeblood.  Responsibilities shouldn’t be ignored for the sake of fun, but try to find the energy and time to do what you love too.

Scuba diving for the first time in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico.

This doesn’t mean I condone over-filling your schedule.  Trim the fat.  Quoting one of my good friends, “Get rid of anything that isn’t useful, beautiful, or joyful.”  That’s how to set priorities.  Live that out and you find a little more time for the things that matter to you.

Change your focus.  I love to travel.  It’s not cheap.  Many friends and colleagues say they don’t understand how I can travel as much as I do and pay all my bills with my wages.  But if travel is the priority, you find a way.  I don’t have a tv, so no cable bill.  Only a cell phone.  I’m moving to a small studio because it’s less expensive.  Those stops at the drive-thru coffee stand add up and I’d rather save that money to enjoy some Turkish coffee in an Arab café honestly.  If you really want to do something, you’ll find a way.  There’s always a way.

Riding an elephant in Thailand.

And that thought leads me to another: Hope, Plans, and Goals.  Sometimes those dreams seem so far off, so impossible.  Hope keeps you going, a game plan helps you get there, and goal setting with baby steps makes it achievable.  Focus on those dreams.

So what have you been day dreaming of lately?

13 comments on “Dreaming By Day

  1. ethelthedean
    May 2, 2012

    I’m right there with everything you say. Great, great, writing here Ms. A.

    Balance is key! One thing I’m learning to do is say “no.” I’m already filled to the brim (with things I am madly in love with and bring wonderful thing to my life) but I still have a very hard time not taking on more activities or responsibilities when asked. Then the stress monsters comes. (I don’t like him.)

    Another great point you touched on is the way dreams evolve as you enter new periods of your life. In terms of relationships, I think sharing one anothers dreams (or having the same goals) is super important, as well as having a solid understanding of what the other person wants to do/achieve so you can work together/help each other out in whatever way you can. If your life aspirations don’t match up, there is no way it will work in the long term.

    Love this!
    xx

    • Audrey
      May 3, 2012

      You’ve nailed it on the balance issue, lady! Being over-busy detracts so much from quality of life and even of impact. Was discussing this very thing with some friends last night. It’s hard to say no when it’s to good things but it can come down to refusing the good to choose the great.

      And you’re so right about making sure your goals and dreams are in alignment with your significant other. Seems like a lot of people lose themselves in relationships and come out the other side wondering what happened. Finding someone who wants to make that journey with you, or has a similar path in mind already is huge. Brilliance right here, love getting your thoughts on it all!!

  2. storiesbywilliams
    May 2, 2012

    Holy… jealous of the way you get around! There any place you haven’t been but I have?

    • Audrey
      May 3, 2012

      Haha, thanks! Well… Where have you been? I’ve been pretty lax on traveling within the U.S. I have yet to explore the East Coast and still need to check out more of Europe.

      • storiesbywilliams
        May 3, 2012

        Well, there’s across Canada, Pennsylvania and NY state, Washington, Oregon, southern Mexico, Cuba, Spain, Germany, and London.That’d be it so far. You’re turn!

      • Audrey
        May 3, 2012

        Shoot! That’s an awesome travel list, and sounds like it’s going to keep growing. And a ton of places I haven’t been to. You’ve caught the travel bug, yes? 🙂
        Hmmm… I’ve hit the West Coast, Alaska, Mississippi, Georgia, Louisiana, Colorado, Idaho, Sweden, Russia, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Israel, Jordan, Mexico, Germany, Macedonia, Bulgaria, and Greece so far.

      • storiesbywilliams
        May 3, 2012

        What? That’s way bigger than my list! You tricked me!

      • Audrey
        May 3, 2012

        Haha, I feel like it has a long way to grow yet. 🙂 We’ll both be around the world in no time if we keep it up!

  3. whatimeant2say
    May 2, 2012

    I love the pic of you on the elephant! What do I dream of? Making a difference. Maybe I do that with teaching. Only time will tell!

    • Audrey
      May 3, 2012

      I’m sure you’re making a huge difference in the lives of your students, and that’s in addition to all the people you touch and bring joy to through your blog! Im certainly glad to “know” you.

  4. captainariel
    May 2, 2012

    Wow. That was SO encouraging! 😀 honestly going into brothels was one of my biggest dreams! But once you accomplish them you just make more 😀

    • Audrey
      May 3, 2012

      Isn’t it! I love that the journey never ends, there’s so much more ahead. Your dream of working with traffick victims and prostitutes can grow or morph into something entirely new as you continue. So excited for the amazing life you’re co-creating with God right now!

      • captainariel
        May 4, 2012

        Aww thanks! 😀 I’m excited too! We were made for so much more than we ever thought!

Leave a Reply

