Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Living Small to Live Big

I think I found it!  A means to maintain that dream of traveling, a springboard to continue growing my small business, a haven to rest between stints of changing the world.  Okay, I’m not sure if it’s all that…  But I did find a studio to move into this weekend!

You may now join me in the Happy Dance if you feel so inclined.  Okay, we’re done now.

It’s in town, an easy bike ride to my favorite spots in Bellingham, close to the highway for ease of getting to work, it’s a standalone “house” essentially and complete with a front yard so I really do have my own space at long last.  And because it’s small, it’s relatively inexpensive so I can be putting even more funds toward travel!  Ah, bliss…

Where's the color and cozy?! (not my photo)

I’ve been looking for a place for several weeks.  The first place I was planning to move into didn’t work out at the last minute so it was back to searching.  Housing and transportation issues tend to stress me out, as evidenced by the multiple cold sores on my face and inside my mouth.  You probably didn’t want to know that…  Anyway, big sigh of relief from this quarter!

Now it’s on to the downsizing.  Going from a large one bedroom (plus “storage room”) setup to a very cozy studio is going to require some paring down.  I started looking at minimalist living techniques and ideas.  And I may incorporate some of this when I sort through my things.  Lean living and a little less materialism sounds wonderful to me.  But I still like my aesthetics, my jewel tone decor palette, my vintage wall art, and covering the walls with texture and fabrics.  White walls and a few dorm room-esque pieces of furniture just aren’t appealing and that was a lot of what I saw from minimalists.  So I’ll soon embark on the adventure of lean living in a small space with beauty.  Wish me luck!

My kind of interior decorating... (not my photo)

There were a couple of years that I spent living out of a suitcase.  It seemed like I moved around every 6 months or so.  And honestly, I liked only having two duffle bags worth of belongings.  It made life simple and easy.  There was also the appeal of knowing I could embark on the next travel adventure at a moment’s notice.  So buying a car nearly put me into a panic from feeling “settled”.  Getting a one year lease?  That was downright frightening!  And buying a couch was… well, it took me a long time to get around to that.  Mind you, I’m a steady old soul, very responsible, somewhat predictable, and a big fan of consistency.  But even if I am pretty reliable there’s something I love about knowing I can always take off.

My old ways are coming back to me with a vengeance.  Just the though of getting rid of “stuff” has me nearly giddy with euphoria.  It all brings me back to that free feeling again.  I may still not be up for a leave-taking anytime soon, but I like being a little more removed from materialism and consumerism.  That’s worth making the move to a smaller space for me.

So on to living with less to have a more full life!

21 comments on “Living Small to Live Big

  1. Chicken Nuggets and Elmo
    April 30, 2012

    That sounds wonderful… good luck with the move and everything that goes with it! I remember being in my 20s and moving every year or two… it gets old after a while. I like stayiing put… but I know what you mean about the “stuff” you accummulate. I’ve been slowly purging things as part of my spring cleaning, but I still have a long way to go. It’s a great way to re-prioritize what you allow into your life. Stuff is just stuff… and when you have too much of it you are crowding yourself out of your life!

    • Audrey
      April 30, 2012

      Reprioritizing, I think you’ve really nailed it! There’s something about how that clutter builds up so slowly and we can figureatively and literally lose ourselves in it. I think the purging is probably one of the things I enjoy most about moving, that and having a new space to decorate. 🙂 Sounds like you’ve moved around quite a bit yourself! You know how all of this goes.

  2. Silvia Reed
    April 30, 2012

    The more I get to know you Audrey, the more I admire you.

  3. storiesbywilliams
    April 30, 2012

    Studios do scream “artist!” don’t they? Maybe it’s the feng shui of the place, or the open window concept. Who knows, I want one too!

    • Audrey
      April 30, 2012

      They really do! There’s a youthfulness about being in a studio. Are you looking to move anytime soon?

      • storiesbywilliams
        April 30, 2012

        Sort of, but the wife and I are looking at townhouses mostly. But we agree, any one of must have an office space for me… with a window… and a good view!

  4. The Byronic Man
    April 30, 2012

    I tend, like most people, to slowly accrue more stuff. Then I purge. I purge like crazy. Drives my wife insane, but there’s nothing like feeling free and light and unencumbered with stuff. Stuff stuff stuff.

    • Audrey
      April 30, 2012

      I’m with you! That stuff just kind of piles up before you know it, but getting rid of it feels so new and refreshing! Is your wife a saver then?

  5. Sarah
    April 30, 2012

    Hi Audrey – love it!! The new space, the motivation, the possibilities. I too do not have pack-rat-itis, although I might have throw-away-itis (or give-away-itis). Of course do take all your darling shoes, those a gal can never have too many of. Looking forward to seeing the new abode when you are ready to share.

    • Audrey
      April 30, 2012

      No, the shoes are all coming! Although some of them have been lost to wear of late, so my high heel collection seems to be minimizing itself this year. Yes, you’ll have to come visit for a BBQ during the summer!!

  6. Cheryl Townsley
    April 30, 2012

    Good for you – – stuff can never replace ‘memories’ you make from travel and life!

    • Audrey
      April 30, 2012

      It’s true! And photos of those memories are so much better than knick knacks. Miami, here we come!

  7. ethelthedean
    April 30, 2012

    Love, love, love it. And the new blog format is just fab. Your energy is completely catching. I cannot wait to see what else you have in store! Really happy for you beauty cat 🙂

    M and I are talking a bunch about what the next year has in store. We have June 2013 as our “reassess” date – we’re thinking 2 years of work/travel before find a new “permanent” (semi-permanent?) home.

    • Audrey
      May 1, 2012

      Thank you, it’s pretty exciting!

      Love that you guys have a reassess date for possibly moving, traveling, anything! And a permanent home at the end of it all sounds equally appealing. A beautiful life!!

  8. whatimeant2say
    April 30, 2012

    Congratulations on finding a new place!

    • Audrey
      May 1, 2012

      Thank you! Such a relief and I’m looking forward to a new space!

  9. Worrywart
    May 1, 2012

    We moved from a five bedroom house to a one bedroom cottage – we now use our suitcases as dresser drawers under our bed. I’d like to be using those suitcases to travel more . . . . Congratulations!

    • Audrey
      May 1, 2012

      Wow! That is quite the change! Was it hard to downsize for you guys? Hopefully many more travels ahead for you to really put those suitcases to work!

  10. captainariel
    May 2, 2012

    I cant wait to stay there w you for a few nights! 😀 it sounds awesome!

Leave a Reply

