Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tulip Fest

This might just be better than Oktober Fest – no joke.  Imagine 70 degrees, sunny, snow-capped mountains in the distance, a breeze from the sea, and fields upon fields of bright tulips.  Welcome to the Skagit Tulip Festival!

After church yesterday, I met up with a friend to head down to Mount Vernon.  I’ve been waiting for weeks for the tulips to finally start blooming after a chilly and damp start to our Northwest spring.  And finally they were here!  We hopped on a motorcycle and took the scenic route along the shoreline.  The weather couldn’t have been more perfect: blue skies, sunshine, and warmth.  On the left, trees became a blur in the periphery and the sea sprawled out to surround the San Juan Islands to the right.

And then the road met the Skagit Valley, hemmed in by the Cascade Range to the East and Puget Sound to the west.  Smells of freshly cut silage, musty cows, and the hint of brine rose up.  Quintessential Washington and I love it!  Before long the fields took on rainbow hues.  Pinks, reds, yellows, and purples stretched out in lakes of flowers.

Only the tulip fields of Holland could match this display!  Wandering through the fields, my eyes were dazzled by the bright colors.  It was at once ethereal and earthy – the dirt and mud of the furrows contrasting with vivid and delicate blooms.

My favorite part was walking along the edge of one of the fields where fewer people were gathered.  And then I spotted it.  Like little “Easter Eggs” you can look out for in films, there was a bit of pink in a sea of red tulips.  And we even found a lone daffodil hidden in the rows of blooms!

And then my tummy rumbled.  Time to search out some grub and the spot to get it was the Skagit River Brewery.  I should have taken pictures of the gluten-free pizza I ordered – it was fantastic!  Paired with a tasty apricot cider, it couldn’t have been better.

On the ride back to Bellingham we captured a few shots of the sunset over the San Juans.  The clouds were starting to roll in but rays of sunshine pierced through in glory.  Another great weekend adventure for the books!

23 comments on “Tulip Fest

  1. Chicken Nuggets and Elmo
    April 23, 2012

    beautiful pics. I remember going to the NY Botantical Garden’s Rose Garden right after 9/11 and taking similar pictures of roses. I love the close ups!

    • Audrey
      April 23, 2012

      I bet the rose garden was stunning! The tulips were so vibrant, it was a perfect day to go visit the fields. 🙂

  2. Noel Tendick
    April 23, 2012

    What a luscious creation of color! Way to ride!

    • Audrey
      April 23, 2012

      Perfect day to be out on a motorcycle! I love the color too, it just makes me smile. 🙂

  3. Mommy OM
    April 23, 2012

    Gorgeous! Beautiful beyond words! I love the lone daffodil!

    • Audrey
      April 23, 2012

      I do too! A little bit of yellow in that bunch of red. The place was just begging to be photographed!

  4. ethelthedean
    April 23, 2012

    I am bowled over by colour! So, so beautiful. Tulips are far and away my favourite flower.

    Glad that you had a smashing weekend and scrumptious pizza to boot 🙂

    • Audrey
      April 23, 2012

      Maybe you can come visit next year to check it out (passport should be renewed by then, right?). 🙂 How was your fabulous weekend? Enjoy the sunshine?

  5. thingsmybellylikes
    April 23, 2012

    Beautiful, these are some stunning shots – though I’m biased, tulips have always been my favourite flower 🙂

    Also apricot cider – HOLY CRAP, WHERE CAN I GET ME SOME?!

    • Audrey
      April 23, 2012

      I’m sure you’d be in heaven then! The place is a photographer’s paradise, you can’t take a bad picture it seems like. 🙂
      I’ve been coming across apricot cider in a quite a few places lately. Seems to be a microbrewery thing so if you grocery store has a micro brew section with ciders and the like, you may be able to find some… SO YUM!

      • thingsmybellylikes
        April 23, 2012

        My grocery store barely has a fresh veg section…*sigh*

        First world problems eh? 😉

      • Audrey
        April 24, 2012

        Sad day!! Haha, yes, I know what you mean… I’m in such a good place for being a foodie, it’s easy to forgot how spoiled we are. You still manage to put together some amazing recipes for having limited options!

      • thingsmybellylikes
        April 24, 2012

        Thank you! That’s a really lovely compliment 🙂

  6. storiesbywilliams
    April 23, 2012

    No way. My old hometown of Ottawa should be doing the exact same thing right about now. Is this to commemorate the Dutch royal family living in Canada during the war, as it is in Ottawa, or just the fact that they are really really pretty?

    • Audrey
      April 23, 2012

      Really? That’s awesome! I don’t know that there is any reason in particular for the Tulip Festival here other than to bring in tourists and because yes, they are really, really pretty. 🙂 I’ll have to check out the one for Ottowa, that sounds so cool!

      • storiesbywilliams
        April 23, 2012

        I take it you live in interior BC then? In that case, we’re practically neighbours 😉

      • Audrey
        April 23, 2012

        No, I’m in the northwestern most corner of Washington State. So that makes you my northernly neighbor though!

      • storiesbywilliams
        April 23, 2012

        It does indeed. That reminds me, how’s the beer down there right now? I will coming down that way soon to do a beer sampling tour, part of a book I intend to write on Pacific northwest brewing.

      • Audrey
        April 23, 2012

        There are some EXCELLENT local breweries in the area. We’re pretty spoiled actually. 🙂 We have a huge beer festival next weekend called April Brew’s Day. If you can make the trip down to Bellingham for it, I’m sure you’d get some great material for your book! Love the book idea, by the way!

      • storiesbywilliams
        April 23, 2012

        Damn, that’s too soon. But I am looking forward to it. Thus far, I’ve fallen in love with Rogue and Pikes, and I enjoy Mirror Pond, Pyramid, and a host of others. But naturally, I am suspicious that the majority aren’t making it across the border! The same is true of most craft brews here in Canada. Stupid prohibition-era laws!

      • Audrey
        April 24, 2012

        Bummer. It’s going to be awesome, I’m hoping to come across some tasty gluten-free beers. Rogue and Pikes are wonderful! If you stop into Bellingham definitely check out Boundary Bay, Kulshan, and Chuckanut – 3 very local and very tasty breweries out here. I’d be curious to hear what you think! I’d love to get my hands on some of your microbrews in Canada though, that’s got to be good!

  7. whatimeant2say
    April 23, 2012

    Heard Bellingham mentioned on NPR the other day, and thought of you! (One of the callers was from there.) I love the way you live your life – absolutely experiencing it to the fullest!

    • Audrey
      April 24, 2012

      Oh fun! The weekend really was wonderful. 🙂 You and the Cap’n manage to have some pretty awesome adventures too from the sound of it!

Leave a Reply

