Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

It’s Summer in My Head

The Northwest in starting to warm up, at least I hope it is.  Spring has been slowly arriving and last week it brought us a few lovely days of warmth and sunshine – oh, glorious sunshine!  So the weekend adventure began…

I’m so glad I brought my bicycle in to work on Friday.  My ride in to Bellingham follows the shoreline, with the San Juan Islands just beyond, and I can see the Cascades off in the distance.  It’s spectacular!  Pair it with a little sunshine, putter along at 15 mph and you’re in my version of heaven.

Got to see my family for my cousin’s 26th birthday celebration.  And the food is always fantastic.  I don’t know if I mentioned that my mom’s side of the family is Mexican.  So these lovely family gatherings tend to consist of carne azada tacos, homemade guacamole (grandma’s special recipe), rice, beans, pico de gallo, and some really tasty salsa.  This stuff is my comfort food.  And of course there are tasty margaritas all around and the occasional birthday shot of Patron.

Oh, and guess who got a haircut?! 10" to Locks of Love!

Saturday was full and wonderful.  It started with a late morning massage, a wander through the local Farmer’s Market (where I bought some delicious locally roasted coffee beans), and then it was off to Lake Sammamish with a friend for some wake boarding.  Yes, wake boarding – because it’s a whole 60 degrees and that’s practically swimsuit time!  I made a very sorry attempt at wake boarding years ago and couldn’t even stand up on it but this time…  I did it!!  The lake was crystal clear, and skimming over the top of it at 20 mph, well, the sensation was a combination of flying and walking on water (today I feel like I got ran over by a Mac truck, in a good sort of way).  I got in the lake just as the sun was setting so I didn’t last very long out there, even in the dry suit.  But I’ve caught the bug and can’t wait to go wake boarding again!  We finished the day with a late, but delicious, dinner.  And I so enjoyed getting to meet some new friends too.

 Sunday was beautiful and sunny again.  After going to the “sleep-in” service at church, beautiful Lake Padden was calling my name – for a run.  The run was rough even though it’s short (only 2.7 miles).  I’m not really sure why, but I had a hard time keeping my pace steady, my lungs felt ready to burst and I was glad it had been a few hours since my last meal because the ol’ intestines were in knots.  It was hard to not walk out the last 1/2 mile, to not take the shortcut at the end of my circuit and say, “good enough”.  But when I got back to my car I realized I had improved from my previous best running time by 2 minutes!!  And suddenly it was all worth it.

I headed up to the county for a meeting about the aid trip I’m doing in Israel later this year.  There is a lot to prep for mentally on trips like this.  And being in a culture so foreign to my own is a challenge and takes preparation to deal with as well.  It means learning to not demand my place in a world where some may consider me a second class citizen because I’m a woman: to have strength of conviction and grace in those situations, to remember my own value, and to show others that they are priceless as well.  We go into places that are dark, sad, miserable, and desperate and bring love, joy, help, and hope.

The perfect way to end a fabulous weekend?  A friend offered to take me on a motorcycle ride out to the bay!  I haven’t been on a motorcycle in about 3 years, but I love it.  There’s something so freeing about it.  Herons stood knee-deep in the sandy water, and the beach was covered in shells and sea life.  We got there in time to see the clouds roll in and obscure any view of the sunset, but in Washington we learn to make our own sun – just a little imagination and a beaming smile…

So even though the rain has returned in full force this morning, I’m pretty sure summer is on its way.

9 comments on “It’s Summer in My Head

  1. BrainRants
    April 16, 2012

    Audrey, the Army’s taken me briefly to the Seattle/Ft. Lewis area, and even in the urban sprawl, it’s lovely once you look past the buildings and Cobainitoids. You’re lucky… enjoy it. FYI, it’s always summer in MY head, which is why I am often seen shovelling Kansas snow in board shorts. Idiot, I know.

    • Audrey
      April 16, 2012

      That’s awesome you’ve had the chance to visit. I keep coming back to the area for some reason… It’s something about the meeting of mountains and ocean. You are a crazy man! Hot blooded American or something like that I’m guessing? 🙂

      • BrainRants
        April 17, 2012

        More like “dumb-assed” but yeah, sort of. I thought you lived there… ? … no?

      • Audrey
        April 17, 2012

        Yeah, I live out here. Sorry, that did sound kind of confusing…
        I was born and raised in the NW, spent my teen years in Alaska, lived in Oregon for a short time, and despite all that world travel, I just can’t get away from Bellingham. It really is my base of ops now. 🙂

  2. ethelthedean
    April 16, 2012

    Beautiful post. Brilliant writing, and your energy, passion and warmth just leaps off of the page. Computer screen? Let’s say both! 🙂

    I definitely know what you mean about it being summer in your head. Every time I see the sun that’s my go to reaction! It looks like you had a brilliant weekend and something tells me there will be many, MANY more to come over the next months!

    Also, great hair cut and that’s so wonderful you donated! I did it once about eight years ago and it was pretty darn awesome.

    • Audrey
      April 17, 2012

      Thank you, Ethel! You’re too sweet!

      Maybe it’s something with us Northwest kids? A little sunshine hits and it has GOT to be summer! You had a pretty fantastic weekend yourself it sounds like! Dye notwithstanding. 😉 Here’s to some seriously epic weekends ahead for both of us!

      P.S. Love that you’re posting daily now, have so enjoyed it!

  3. whatimeant2say
    April 16, 2012

    What an idyllic weekend! You are living the great life, girl!

    • Audrey
      April 17, 2012

      It really was wonderful! I always hope that these postings will get everyone else out there experiencing life in the ways that they enjoy it the most. 🙂

  4. captainariel
    April 16, 2012

    Beautiful :] sounds Epic and one day I will see all this for myself! Haha 😀

Leave a Reply

