Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Photo Fridays: Mount Saint Helens

Happy Friday to all!

In October of 2009, I loaded up my Jeep Cherokee and went for a weekend road trip around Mount Saint Helens. I’d heard about the famous volcano and its 1980 eruption for years. It was practically a crime to be a Washingtonian and not have seen it.

The drive is stunning! There are some great places to camp along rivers, excellent hiking trails, and the vistas are breathtaking. This photo was taken at the Johnston Ridge Observatory. Enjoy and go on an adventure this weekend!

16 comments on “Photo Fridays: Mount Saint Helens

  1. ethelthedean
    April 13, 2012

    Love this vista. It truly is a spectacular sight to behold.

    Have a great one lovely!
    xx

    • Audrey
      April 15, 2012

      Thanks, Lady! It was really amazing to see it for myself. If you can ever make the trip, it’s well worth it! 🙂

  2. LA Edwards
    April 13, 2012

    I too am from Washington, and also never have seen this. I always say next summer we will go. I think we shall try to go this summer. And not merely say it, but go. I remember the event, I remember what I was doing, and my father using a small plow to push the ash away as we received so much ash. Thanks for sharing!

    • Audrey
      April 15, 2012

      Thanks for stopping by the blog! I really hope you can make the trip this year. 🙂 If you are into hiking, I’d highly recommend checking out the Ape Caves and Lava Canyon when you head out there.

      • LA Edwards
        April 15, 2012

        Thanks, but my hiking days are over. I live vicariously through others photos.

      • Audrey
        April 16, 2012

        In that case, I’ll hope you get to do the drive and see lots of other photos. 🙂

      • LA Edwards
        April 16, 2012

        I hope to.

  3. whatimeant2say
    April 13, 2012

    How do you take such amazing pictures?

  4. BrainRants
    April 14, 2012

    It still looks sorta messed up…

    • Audrey
      April 15, 2012

      Yeah there’s still a lot of damage from the eruption. There are some new growth forests nearby that were planted 30 years ago but not much is growing at the blast site itself.

  5. betunada
    March 29, 2013

    your photo looks close-up and on a clear day. which direction were you from MSH? i had been visiting “my kids” in Portland for a few years now, usually overcast and rainy, and it was, um, i think just last year or so when I SAW M S H from downtown Portland, and it blew my mind!

Leave a Reply

