Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

New Oceans

Change.  Oh come on, unclench already!

It is a loaded word though, heavy with connotations and inciting immediate reactions for better or worse.  It gives me a knot in my stomach sometimes to think of change.  But that could be either excitement or anxiety, or both.  I’ve been mulling over this idea of chapters and seasons in life.  Changes transition us from one phase to another.  I have a feeling my next chapter will be great.

In the last week I have decided to move back into town from being in the county.  I love being in the heart of Bellingham; amidst the subdued hustle of the city, the foodie in me rejoices to be near quality restaurants and grocery stores again, within easy distance of wonderful family and friends.  And the adventurer inside can’t wait to cycle all over town, be so close to beloved hiking trails and rock climbing routes, and spend too many hours at my favorite parks.

I’m returning to the world of single-hood.  The boyfriend and I realized that we were going different directions in life.  I really do wish him all the best as he continues his journey and I’m looking forward to delving further into my own.  Single life agrees with me.  I’m sad to say goodbye but glad for the chance to refocus.

My business is seeing some changes too.  It’s taking off like I have only dreamed of and it’s exciting to see!  The 90 Day Challenge is an opportunity to change lives for the better through health, finances, and lifestyle and to see it catching on is the most rewarding experience.

Work life is shifting slightly.  I’m being asked to help more with operational projects and administrative management and moving further from the standard executive assistant role.  It seems like a good fit and things are going well, but there will be some adjusting.

And with moving back into town and on my own once again, I’ve concluded that a car will be a matter of necessity.  Especially for the convenience it offers as I grow my business.  So after a year of being vehicle-free, I’ll be back on the road (when I’m not on my road bike of course).  I’ve enjoyed not having a car, found myself less stressed about silly things like traffic, fuel prices, and insurance costs.  But having wheels will be nice.

It seems like almost every aspect of my life is undergoing a major overhaul right now.  I have a peace about it all though, a strange sort of confidence.  Never before can I recall being as hopeful and expectant when change has come.  Spring is here, bringing newness and life!  Perhaps chaos isn’t always bad.  Or maybe I’ve been needlessly fearing the unexpected.  And I know I’m not the only one who is going through a closing and opening of life chapters.  So my encouragement is this: find the hope it in.  The sky isn’t falling, the world isn’t ending.  There are things here to learn in these moments, new places to explore.  New is unfamiliar and sometimes scary, but new is an opportunity for something more.

“Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore.” -Andre Gide

14 comments on “New Oceans

  1. captainariel
    April 12, 2012

    Oh, Audrey. You are SUCH a strong woman! Its very inspiring…and I know you could move the very mountians if you tried cause you’re just that determined :D. And I’m honestly kind of glad you’ll be in the heart of Bellingham haha. I wish you the very best in life!, Audrey. You deserve it because you are a kind, generous, loving spirit and a hard worker :D. I Love You! Always here for you :] Cant wait to explore WA w you! ❤

    • Audrey
      April 12, 2012

      Thank you, Ariel! You’ve a lot of changes of your own coming up too, excited to see where it takes you. We’re going to have to make it work for you to come visit after your DTS. I have a feeling you’d love it here… Hugs to you, my sweet friend!

      • captainariel
        April 12, 2012

        I know! Haha I’m excited too! 😀 and for sure!

  2. BrainRants
    April 12, 2012

    Guess everyone is in transition lately. Good luck. Oh, and great photo… the ‘big glasses’ icon pic doesn’t convey the real you – kinda stunning.

    • Audrey
      April 12, 2012

      Yeah, you’ve got a major move coming up yourself. Thank you and all the best to you as well. Oh, thank you! Haha, I was just thinking that your own icon pic probably isn’t all that accurate either… 🙂

      • BrainRants
        April 14, 2012

        Oh, my sabbatical in Afghanistan to blow off some steam? Yep. My icon pic looks much better than the real thing.

  3. ethelthedean
    April 12, 2012

    Honest, beautiful, brilliant. I love reading your writing.

    I also admire your strength and poise. That is a beautiful photo of you amidst the flowers, and I feel as though your new banner photo is super appropriate for the theme of this post.

    You are doing what is right for you, and you deserve all the accolades and success that are coming your way. Keep on doing your thing lady – it’s making the world a better place.
    xx

    • Audrey
      April 12, 2012

      There really is something exciting about all of this, it feels like the beginning of a new adventure.
      Thank you for the kind sentiments – I’ve been feeling so blessed to have good friends in my life who are encouraging and inspiring. Some of your posts have been an igniting fire to keep the forward momentum up, really appreciate all that you’ve done and love that we connected! Synergy at its best!

  4. Lisa
    April 12, 2012

    What a great post Audrey! May you welcome change into your life and always aspire greatness. You are a beautiful, strong woman and an inspiration to all.

  5. whatimeant2say
    April 12, 2012

    These changes all sound very positive, so I am really happy for you!

    • Audrey
      April 15, 2012

      I’m really looking forward to the next chapter. Thanks!

  6. Curly Carly
    April 15, 2012

    Wow, you’ve got a lot going on! Change can be great and your attitude about it is awesome. Good luck with the move and single life!

    • Audrey
      April 15, 2012

      It’s been so positive! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2012 by in Adventure, Dreams, Family, Fitness, Food, Friends, Fun, Health, Relationships, Something New and tagged , , , , , , , .
