Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Egg Hunts and Daffodils

Spring has finally arrived here in the great Northwest!  Easter weekend was full of adventure as I went apartment shopping, shared with a friend about the 90 Day Challenge (because, hey, if spring is here, summer is just around the corner…), soaked up the sunshine, and enjoyed much-needed time with family and friends!

On Saturday after a late lunch at Avenue Bread (best sandwiches in Bellingham) and desperately needing to work off the massive sandwich I ate, I went for a lovely stroll along the boardwalk at Boulevard Park.

I had evening plans with a friend after that and had the pleasure of helping to decorate Easter eggs with her kids.  And around midnight, the “Easter Bunny” and I hid the eggs.  I forgot how exciting it is to go for an egg hunt: the anticipation, the frantic searching, the expectant opening of the eggs.  Yesterday morning was grand.

We all dressed in our Sunday best and went to Easter Service after the egg hunt.  I love seeing how many people come in for these holiday services – a chance to touch more hearts and change lives through hope.

But that wasn’t it.  Oh no…  Just to the south in Mount Vernon the Tulip Festival has taken over the month of April.  We drove down to the fields to see what we could see.  And all that we could see, were DAFFODILS!  Our winter has been so long (for us) that the tulips are not yet in bloom and already a week late!  But the daffodils are in their full glory already.  We rushed out of the car and as the kids ran up and down the flowered furrows it reminded me of the poppy field in Wizard of Oz.  Acres upon acres of brilliant, happy, yellow flowers with heads turned to the sky.  It seemed unreal to wander through so much beauty, a fantasy land in its own right.

I can’t wait for the tulips to bloom!  I’ll be coming back in a week or two, methinks.  And maybe this time I’ll just ride my bicycle down there.  Riding leisurely past all of it just sounds fantastic to me.  Photos and tales of the adventure will follow so stay tuned!

Next, it was over the river and through the woods to my grandmother’s house.  I always seem to run late to these family gatherings but arrived in time for the best part – dessert and tea.  Its been awhile since I’ve seen some of the family and was so wonderful to spend time with them.

And before I knew it the day was nearly gone.  I had just enough time to squeeze in a lovely run around Lake Padden while the sun set over the bay and then off to home, dinner, and bed.  A truly lovely weekend wrapped up in beautiful beginnings, new hope, powerful love, abundant joy, and glorious overcoming. I’m overflowing with gratitude for all the wonderful people in my life.

I hope each of you had an equally phenomenal Easter.  What did you do for Easter weekend?

8 comments on “Egg Hunts and Daffodils

  1. Stuff I Can't Post
    April 9, 2012

    sounds exquisite!!! 🙂 happy easter deary!

    • Audrey
      April 11, 2012

      It was lovely! Sounds like you had quite a fabulous Easter yourself, Amiga!

      • Stuff I Can't Post
        April 12, 2012

        yeay!!! 🙂 yes my easter was pretty nice. i can’t complain. cheers my friend! 🙂

  2. ethelthedean
    April 9, 2012

    What a lovely weekend and these are brilliant photos! I too love daffodils. They bring such vibrancy to the world, what with how well they compliment the blue of the sky. I’m glad you had such a fab time!

    Chickadee, I’ve nominated you for the Kreative Blogger Award – List seven interesting facts about you and nominate 7 other Bloggers to accept!

    • Audrey
      April 11, 2012

      Daffodils are such happy flowers. 🙂 Perhaps I can convince you to come down for the Tulip Festival for a visit…

      My first award! Thank you!!

  3. whatimeant2say
    April 9, 2012

    Those daffodils are absolutely awesome! And you look fabulous in the field!

    • Audrey
      April 11, 2012

      It was gorgeous out there! Can’t wait until the tulips start blooming. And thank you!

  4. Pingback: Tulip Fest « Dangerously Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

