Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tasty Tuesdays: Avocado Pasta

Yes, I realize this sounds scary and granola-y (What?  It’s a word!) beyond all.  But believe you me, this is deliciousness right here!  My vegetarian friends can make this without the chicken and it is still excellent.  And the beauty of it is that it’s so simple to make!

What you need:

  • 2 ripe avocados – skin and seed removed
  • 3 cloves garlic – pressed
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp Herbes de Provence (Italian Seasoning)
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 12 cherry tomatoes – chopped
  • 1 lbs chicken – diced (optional)
  • 1/2 tbsp paprika
  • 2 cups pasta of choice (I used gluten-free brown rice spaghetti pasta)
  • parmesan cheese – shredded

Start cooking the pasta according to packaging instructions.  Add a bit of olive oil and sea salt to the boiling water for flavor.

In a food processor, combine avocado, garlic, olive oil, lemon juice, and spices.  Pulse until well blended and creamy in texture.  If needed, add more salt or lemon juice to taste.

In a skillet, cook diced chicken on medium heat – add a bit of olive oil too.  Season with paprika and cook until no pink remains.

Serve up avocado sauce on a bed of pasta and top with chicken, tomatoes, and parmesan cheese.  Enjoy!

11 comments on “Tasty Tuesdays: Avocado Pasta

  1. Lisa
    April 3, 2012

    Seriously love this recipe. I am always looking for different ways to “do up” pasta. This one looks AHHHH-mazing! Thanks Audrey!

    • Audrey
      April 3, 2012

      Let me know how it turns out for you! I like that it’s creamy but doesn’t have all the fatty cheese in it and it’s something different. Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

  2. Cheryl Townsley
    April 3, 2012

    Sounds quite tasty — so ready for home and home-cooked food!

  3. Hmm? I love pasta and I love avocado, but it’s hard to imagine putting these two together. I’ll have to give it a try.

    • Audrey
      April 3, 2012

      I discovered different variations of it when I was looking for a creamy pasta sauce that didn’t contain cheese. It sounded weird to me at first too but with the spices in there it has a very Italian savor to it! Keep me posted on how it turns out for you. 🙂

  4. sj
    April 3, 2012

    Man, I hate that I’ve recently developed an avocado sensitivity, because this looks delicious!

    • Audrey
      April 3, 2012

      You really do have my sympathy with that one. 😦 Could try it with butternut squash though! My butternut squash mac’n’cheese turned out fantastic and I’ll bet it would be good with these ingredients…

  5. ethelthedean
    April 3, 2012

    Um. YES. NOM.

    That is all.

    • Audrey
      April 3, 2012

      I was thinking this would be right up your alley…

  6. whatimeant2say
    April 3, 2012

    Seriously, you must come over to my house and cook!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2012 by in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
