Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

A Day at the Office or, What I Do On My Breaks at Work

BF and I are off to a long weekend in Kansas City for the ViSalus 90 Day Challenge National Training.  I’ll report back on the inspiring speakers, the fabulous “Green Themed” party planned for Saturday night, and all the other happenings when I get back on Tuesday.  Until then, I’ll leave you with this and wish you all a great weekend!

In a previous post, I mentioned that I’d love to be a paid and published writer by trade. While I ply away at that, I’m blessed to work at a great company with some wonderful coworkers. The hilarity was running rampant during my lunch break a while ago and I feel inclined to share…

The following is an email thread between myself a coworker (we’re going to call her Peggy Sue), after I had informed the company that our water was not working:

Me: Please be advised that one of our water lines has broken and the water is now shut off. Maintenance is working to fix the issue and will get water back on line as soon as possible. We do not have an estimate on when the water will be back on, however. Thank you all for your patience.

Peggy Sue: Is there a row of shrubbery that might perhaps be available in the event of an emergency?

Me: Shrubbery? So many Monty Python jokes on the tip of my tongue… Must. Resist! Ahem, sorry about that… under control now. Um, yeah, I’m going to suggest the “if it’s yellow let it mellow” program.

Peggy Sue: Hahahaha!!!!!!!!!

Me: (Clipart image attached)

Peggy Sue: Okay – that’s fairly priceless!

Me: I think my day is a little happier – even though I have to pee right now…

(Image is courtesy of Microsoft Clipart.)

8 comments on “A Day at the Office or, What I Do On My Breaks at Work

  1. Robyn Burke
    March 23, 2012

    remember how we worked those particular muscles while laboring at the sports center in Macedonia? Because none of us ladies wanted to use that nasty nasty bathroom? don’t laugh, don’t sneeze!!

    • Audrey
      March 26, 2012

      Oh Robyn, that was too funny! Those bathrooms were pretty bad… But at least we could laugh through it al! 🙂

  2. sj
    March 23, 2012

    Oh, I love that you were making Monty Python references in work emails!

    • Audrey
      March 26, 2012

      Never a bad time for a Monty Python one liner!

  3. ethelthedean
    March 23, 2012

    Boy do I ever commiserate! Love, love the Monty Python reference too. 🙂

    Have a safe trip and tons of fun!
    xx

    • Audrey
      March 26, 2012

      My coworkers are pretty awesome. Yes, the trip has been wonderful!!

  4. Curly Carly
    March 25, 2012

    The best part of this post was the Microsoft Clip art.

    • Audrey
      March 26, 2012

      Clip art can entertain on the most dismal days at the office. 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 23, 2012 by in Friends, Fun and tagged , , , , , , , .
