Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

An Irish Birthday

How could a weekend get any better?  Throw in an Irish holiday and a birthday back-to-back and let the good times roll!

You heard that right; St. Patty’s Day is the day before darling BF’s birthday.  This weekend was great!  To kick off the festivities on Saturday I arranged for a jaunt down to Sky High Sports in Bellevue, at BF’s request.  I wasn’t surprised, BF turned 26 but he’s still a kid at heart and it’s one of my favorite things about him.  He keeps stoic, little me feeling young and having fun.  But what is Sky High?  Simply a warehouse full of trampolines.  Yes, trampolines – dozens of them, in fact.  We arrived down there decked in our finest green with “Juan”, one of BF’s closest friends, ready to literally bounce off of the walls.  The place was rampant with kids, most of whom were 6 – 12 years old.  It was enough to make this 24-year-old feel ancient, but we can keep up with the best of them.

Juan’s penchant for basketball has given him hops with more air than Jordan.  BF has boundless energy and bounding leaps – he reminded me of a kangaroo, his powerful legs launching him airborne with each jump (forgive the poor photo quality, I would have loved to capture them jumping without the blur).  And me?  Well, I’m not the most coordinated person, so I spent more time than I care to admit landing on my backside.  That darn country song, “I Ain’t As Good As I Once Was” by Toby Keith, kept playing through my head as I watched these little kids bounce around as if they were made of rubber.  Meanwhile, with each failed attempt at front flips and back flips I was reminded that one faux pas on my part could result in a trip to the ER.  Blistered toes, trampoline rash,  andstiff backs (and for me a few jammed fingers) were our reward for a few hours of fun, but it was worth every ache and pain.

We had a great time, left thoroughly exhausted, and ready to nurse our wounds over some dinner.  I found it ironic that BF requested Mexican food for our Saint Patrick’s Day dinner but our trusty smartphones lead us a tasty restaurant called Tapatio.  The food was fantastic and I had a refreshing margarita to wash it all down.  Then we were on our way back to Bellingham to continue the celebration with more friends.

Decked out in our finest greens!

Another of our preferred haunts in Bellingham is the micro-brewery, Boundary Bay Brewery and Bistro.  This spot stays so attuned to the community and local events and it is one of the best places to spend St. Patty’s Day if you’re in Bellingham.  A band from Ireland was playing some of my favorite songs: O’Reilly’s Daughter, The Irish Washer Woman, and so many other great ones.  We met with friends there for some fun conversation, cold pints of tasty beer (a gluten-free hard cider for me), and rousing clapping and stomping to the music.  At several points in our evening BF and I joined some of our friends in a lively Irish jig.  Now I’ll say first that NONE of us can river dance, but the music was so full of joy and life that we just felt drawn to jump and dance in celebration.  At least until the carbonation from our beers and ciders got jostled in our tummies too much…

Off again as the night continued.  A fun band called Yogoman Burning Band – a local group with lots of brass and a Jamaican leaning – was playing it up at The Wild Buffalo.  BF and I salsa danced the night away.  The Wild Buffalo is a fun club downtown with a casual atmosphere, welcomes all ages (i.e. extends beyond the undergrad college/university crowd), and with varied music offerings.  This is the first place that BF and I ever danced at together so it holds a special place in my heart.  Our legs feeling rubbery from all that jumping, jigging, and dancing, we decided to call it a night and finished off our evening with a cozy walk back to the car while smoking cigars.

We met up with one of our friends yet again to do a late night barbecue on his deck overlooking a lake.  And after, we cozied up to his wood stove for some great conversation and a few sips of Irish cream for a nightcap.

For BF’s birthday morning on Sunday we enjoyed coffee and breakfast at our favorite spot for that kind of deliciousness, Avenue Bread.  And the rest of the day was spent in companionable relaxation.  A fabulous weekend of celebration all wrapped up!

7 comments on “An Irish Birthday

  1. sj
    March 19, 2012

    omgosh, your weekend sounds like amazing fun! That trampoline place looks awesome.

    My kids would be so jealous.

    • Audrey
      March 20, 2012

      Oh yeah, your kids would love it!! I was thinking it would be such a great place to take kids to run, play, and wear themselves out. Better than paying a babysitter! 🙂

  2. ethelthedean
    March 19, 2012

    I love the idea of a room full of trampolines! I love the things, despite almost knocking out one of my front teeth on one due to a over-rotated flip when I was 12 (it’s what happens when you grow seven inches over three months!)

    You had me laughing out loud at the Toby Keith reference – so, so hilarious!

    Glad you two had such a great time. Great photo too 🙂

    • Audrey
      March 20, 2012

      It was a blast! But I’m with you, after a few near misses as a kid, I’m a little wary. DUDE, 7 inches?! Those growing pains but have been awful…

      I had to laugh at myself a lot, no other choice really. 🙂 And thanks! I wonder if they have something like Sky High in Vancouver?

  3. andyrank65
    March 20, 2012

    Hi. Glad you had fun at Sky High Sports. There are lots of locations around the US. Thanks for the mention on your blog.

    • Audrey
      March 20, 2012

      Thanks for stopping by! Yes, we really did have a great time and I’m sure we will be back for more. 🙂

  4. captainariel
    March 21, 2012

    Sounds like Kolt had the best birthday ever 😀

Leave a Reply

