Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

A Star is Born

That’s right, my sweet niece has come into the world!  Beautiful, darling, and precious Emily Anne Avalon has at long last arrived.  She was late (just like her daddy) and big (just like her daddy) at a whopping 9 lbs and 3 oz.

Long awaited, expected, and hoped for.  She is the first of my parents’ grandbabies and we are so thrilled to welcome her.  I’m only sad that she’s so far away.  I long to meet her and I ache to hold her, to see my brother as a proud father, and to finally meet his dear wife as well.

Photos will have to satisfy until I can wrap my arms around Emily and look into those lovely eyes.  I confess, on seeing her picture I sobbed like I was the baby – she’s so precious.

Beautiful baby Emily Avalon Anne

Now that she’s born, I’m feeling a lot more like an adult – something about being a real auntie.  Her birth somehow is the herald announcing that my brothers and I are all grown up because now there’s a new generation for us to love, protect, and care for.

Barely having drawn breath, she is already fiercely loved, adored, and treasured.

14 comments on “A Star is Born

  1. Lisa
    March 15, 2012

    Too sweet, Audrey. She’s beautiful. ♥

    • Audrey
      March 16, 2012

      She really is a cutie, I’m already head-over-heels… 🙂

  2. Robyn Burke
    March 15, 2012

    oh the joys of a new baby and how hard to be so far away. As you know my children live far far away…. it’s very hard. she is beautiful Audrey and I adore her name!!

    • Audrey
      March 16, 2012

      I guess that means a visit to Tennessee is in my future… Do you get to see your grandbabies very often?

  3. sj
    March 15, 2012

    She’s adorable! I can’t stop giggling at how they gave her a little bow. So cute!

    • Audrey
      March 16, 2012

      That bow made me laugh too, its so sweet! Can’t wait to meet her in person.

  4. Curly Carly
    March 15, 2012

    Yay! Congrats!! She’s so pretty. I hope you get to meet her soon. I’m sure you’ll be a great aunt!

    • Audrey
      March 16, 2012

      Thanks, Carly! She’s such a cutie! And I hope so too. 🙂

  5. ethelthedean
    March 15, 2012

    That bow is darling! What an absolute cutie. Huge congratulations to you and your family!

    • Audrey
      March 16, 2012

      Thank you! My brother was lamenting to me today about how they ended up with a toddler…but I can tell she’s already got that big, strong, Army man wrapped around her tiny finger…

  6. captainariel
    March 16, 2012

    Congrats and welcome to the club! 😀 you’ll be the best aunt! ❤ even better than me 😛

    • Audrey
      March 16, 2012

      Haha, thanks! I hope so, it’ll be a challenge being so far away. I’ll be sending lots of care packages!

      • captainariel
        March 16, 2012

        Yeah. Its hard when they grow up wout you. But I know that she’ll be so excited every time she gets to see you! 😀 It’ll make her want to hang ont w you even more!

  7. Susanne
    March 17, 2012

    Fresh Baby! ♥

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2012 by in Family, Something New and tagged , , , , , , , , .
