Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tasty Tuesday’s: Beef Stroganoff

Hot off the WP Dashboard, it’s another installment of Tasty Tuesday’s!  BF and I were in the mood for some comfort food to warm us up last week so I made up some yummy beef stroganoff.  Extra veggies and a little less sour cream puts this dish more on the healthy side.  I made whole wheat pasta for the family and some gluten-free for me.  Give in to the cozy tastiness!

What you need:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil (vegetable also works)
  • 2 lbs ground beef (I used organic, grass-fed and it was delish)
  • 1 sweet yellow onion, chopped
  • .5 red bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 6 crimini mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 leek, thinly sliced
  • 4 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 1.5 c. beef broth
  • 1 c. sour cream
  • sea salt to taste
  • freshly ground pepper to taste
  • 1 tbsp Italian seasoning (equal parts basil, marjoram, oregano, rosemary, thyme)
  • pasta (your choice, I used gluten-free penne)

In a large skillet on medium heat, brown the ground beef in olive oil along with the onions and garlic.  Start boiling water for your pasta and cook according to package instructions.  Add some olive oil and a few shakes of sea salt for flavor to the pasta water.

When the ground beef is almost cooked through, add the beef broth, mushrooms, leeks, red pepper and spices.  When vegetables have softened and broth has reduced by 1/3, stir in the sour cream.  Dish is ready to serve once the sour cream has heated through.  This mixture has the same great taste of regular stroganoff but because of the lowered sour cream amount the sauce may have a less viscous texture.  Use more sour cream if you want to thicken it.

Serve over pasta and enjoy!

13 comments on “Tasty Tuesday’s: Beef Stroganoff

  1. Stuff I Can't Post
    March 13, 2012

    Holy Crap!!!! This looks so amazing!!!! WOW. Can’t wait to try this!

    • Audrey
      March 13, 2012

      Enjoy! I loved having all the veggies in this… 🙂 Let me know how it turns out for you!

  2. thingsmybellylikes
    March 13, 2012

    Oooh I’ve been meaning to do mushroom stroganoff for a while but it somehow got bumped to the back of my head. Your simple and tasty looking recipe has inspired me to drag it to the front, thanks!

    • Audrey
      March 13, 2012

      Awesome! It’s definitely the season for a meal like this (but a bit chilly in my corner of the world). Glad you were inspired! 🙂

  3. Delores Pearl by Amber
    March 13, 2012

    Reblogged this on Delorespearl By Amber's Blog and commented:
    My daughter loves stroganoff. I am definitely going to try this for her.

  4. sj
    March 13, 2012

    Wow, Audrey, how did you know I was just thinking longingly of beef stroganoff over the weekend?!

    (I like when you post recipes I can eat, I also have food allergies)

    • Audrey
      March 13, 2012

      Oh good, my psychic abilities are back! 😉 It’s the perfect time of year for it.
      And thanks – gotta love having gluten-free options!

      • sj
        March 13, 2012

        I’m don’t have gluten allergies, but sometimes it seems like it would be easier to eat if I did. No, I’m allergic to other things that are in almost everything. Like apples, seafood (especially crustaceans), bananas, and more recently I seem to have developed sensitivities to eggs, vinegar and avocados. 😦

      • Audrey
        March 13, 2012

        That’s not fun at all. I’m sorry. Makes it hard to cook and definitely to eat out anywhere. I’ve been doing these really yummy protein shakes that help support digestion and noticed my gluten and lactose sensitivity has really improved. If you’re interested in it, let me know.

  5. whatimeant2say
    March 13, 2012

    This dish looks delish, but I would like to hear more about the protein shakes.

    • Audrey
      March 13, 2012

      My email is: audreygjohnson@gmail.com.
      Email me with your phone number and I can call to tell you more about it (that or I can email you back with my # if you’d prefer). I’ve become such a believer in the product after my health improved that I started to promote it. I’d be happy to send you a sample of it so you can try it out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 13, 2012 by in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , .
