Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Return to the Holy Land

The Jordan River

It’s official. I’ve committed and the only thing that will turn me back is the tide of war or an act of God. Yesterday I signed up for a humanitarian aid trip to Israel. Back to the Holy Land – the birthplace of 3 major religions.

Taking place in October of this year, this will be my second trip to Israel – the first time was in May of 2009. I’m with a team that so far consists of all women. This could be a difficulty when we interact with the male-dominant Muslim culture but it could also serve our purposes as we serve our target people groups.

Courtyard of the Temple Mount

We will be working with an organization in Tel Aviv that runs a safe house for prostitutes in the red light district. The house is a place for the women to go for a night of peaceful rest where they won’t be harassed, a reprieve from life on the streets. We will spend our evenings with these women, working at the house in a practical capacity by changing sheets, cleaning, and bringing much-needed support and supplies. It’s not my first encounter with such a harsh life, but just the same I know it won’t be easy.

The Wailing Wall

During the day, we will be on the streets of Tel Aviv working among the homeless and drug addicts. Again, I’m grateful to have some experience with this in the past, but it’s never an easy undertaking. The key to making a difference in all the lives we encounter is to be that person that treats them with respect, love, and care. To see the individual among a sea of faces, to single them out when the world they live in ignores them – that’s what it is to be a force for hope.

The Tower of David

My heart belongs to the Middle East. I look forward to the return; to once again look on Lake Tiberias, to wander through the bazaars in the old city of Jerusalem, and to once again stand overlooking the hills of Bethlehem, to meet people with amazing stories and experiences so foreign to my own and find good company. It’s strange to be considered of lesser value by some because I’m a woman, to see plain-clothes police officers carrying automatic rifles on their backs, and view the rift between religions while cultures converge. But I look forward to the trip, anxiously awaiting the chance to change the world.

Jerusalem

18 comments on “Return to the Holy Land

  1. ethelthedean
    March 12, 2012

    I am SO proud and so completely in awe of you Audrey! I have tears in my eyes reading this. What an adventure, and what great, great, work!

    • Audrey
      March 12, 2012

      The vision for this trip is so inspiring! I’m honored to be part of it. Thank you for your support, it means the world!

  2. Terence Klein
    March 12, 2012

    This is a very enduring post, Audrey! I am glad to hear you are following your heart back to the Holy Land. I know journey will change your life and the life of others for a greater good. Blessings! -TK

    • Audrey
      March 12, 2012

      Thank you, Terence! There are some great things in store, I’m sure. It’s an amazing place with unforgettable people. Thanks for the encouragement in this!!

  3. whatimeant2say
    March 12, 2012

    This looks absolutely fabulous! What a big heart you have!

    • Audrey
      March 13, 2012

      It’s a great honor to go and help, but truly I’m the one who ends up being overwhelmed with gratitude and joy. 🙂

  4. Susanne
    March 12, 2012

    How thrilling you get to go back! So excited for you!

  5. Susanne
    March 12, 2012

    I also love that you’re a role model, not only for the young ladies still in jr. high and high school, but also for your peers and those who’ve lived longer than you – – altho I don’t know many I could say have lived AS MUCH as you……

    • Audrey
      March 13, 2012

      Thank you, Susanne! It’s been so incredible to see other young women rise up and want to change the world. I get all teary just thinking about it…

  6. captainariel
    March 13, 2012

    Sounds amazing! 😀 I’m so excited for you! And jealous :] I would Love to go on a mission trip w you! I hope you have fun, and change lives! I know you will :] Love You ❤

    • Audrey
      March 13, 2012

      Hey, we may yet be able to go on a trip together… And thanks, Sweetie! I’m looking forward to it. Hugs!

  7. Stuff I Can't Post
    March 13, 2012

    This is so inspirational dear!!! What an amazing lady you are!!!! Have an amazing time – hope to see lots of pictures and hear stories when you return. 🙂

    • Audrey
      March 13, 2012

      Thank you! I will definitely do some followup posts to share photos and experiences, and I’m sure there will be a few updates before I go too!

  8. Sarah
    March 14, 2012

    Where East and West meet. What a fantastic exposure to living your faith and reaching up to other’s. And a challenge of such compassionate undertaking; the fragile nature of women’s voices around the globe for health and safety. Persevere Audrey!!!

    • Audrey
      March 14, 2012

      Everytime I travel for something like this I can’t help but feel honored at the opportunity. It’s a struggle but such a joy to serve in this capacity and the people met and world-view gained are unparalleled. Thank you for your amazing encouragement, Sarah!

  9. Pingback: A Request, A Letter | Dangerously Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

