Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Reunited (And It Feels So Good)

Yesterday the best of surprises called me up.  My mama was flying from Alaska to Tennessee to see my brother and sister-in-law and her flight from Seatac to O’Hare was cancelled due to weather.  She ended being able to rent a car and make the drive up to Bellingham to stay with me for the evening and is heading back to Seatac this morning to catch her new flight.

My joy can’t quite be expressed.  I see my mom maybe 2-3 times each year.  We’re close and way too similar sometimes so each reunion is wonderful!  I managed to get out of work early to meet up with her.

Yesterday was also the start of my cycle training for my 4th 90 Day Challenge.  Reunited with my beloved road bike at last (her name is Francette)!  I made plans to carpool to work with my bike and then cycle the one way home.  It was chilly yesterday and I haven’t ridden a bike for any considerable distance in some time.  In the spirit of full disclosure: it was a rough ride.  The hills, oh the hills how they make my legs burn!  My metabolism is reeling in shock from 17 miles of road.  I hit a head wind for my last 5 miles and was reminded that these are the moments that you really learn to be committed to a goal – the times when you have to pry your numbed hands off of the handlebars, and the only way you know that you’re still pedaling is because of the speedometer on your cockpit, because let’s face it, you can’t feel the pedals under your frozen feet.  And I’ll spare the you sorry tale of my sore, sorry tail (i.e. butt).  I survived my winter ride (without having to phone a friend) and will now work up my courage for the next one.  But back to getting to meet my mom.

She beautiful, my mama.  She’s absolutely radiant and stunning with the most warm and kind smile – completely genuine and full of life and love (in true dumb-dumb form, I neglected to take pictures of us together).  That moment when I first see her and just fall into those arms – it’s more valuable to me than gold.  And the excited chattering to catch up on life.  She regaled me with tales of the Iditarod, her travel mishaps and adventures, I shared about my writing ventures, cycling experience, and everything in between.

The momentous occasion was worth celebrating, so BF and I made chicken piccata (perhaps a recipe for a future Tasty Tuesdays posting), roasted red potatoes, a strawberry spinach salad, and custard for dessert!  We cooked together, talked together, laughed together and had a great evening.  And I’m not going to lie, I stuffed my maw with all the deliciousness.

This morning my mom and I said our bittersweet goodbyes.  Sometimes I’m a bit sad after she’s gone.  The sense of aloneness pervades and I’m reminded of the distance that spans between my parents, my brothers, and me.  But I wouldn’t trade these moments with any of my family.  Melancholy can’t hold us down because there’s another reunion ahead – another visit in the making.

9 comments on “Reunited (And It Feels So Good)

  1. ethelthedean
    March 8, 2012

    Yay for moms! I’m glad you had a change to reconnect, even for a short while.

    And give yourself a giant pat on the back for that ride! To paraphrase Yogi Berra – sport is 90% mental, and the other half is physical. 🙂

    • Audrey
      March 8, 2012

      We really had such a good time, relaxing and enjoyable… 🙂

      Oh, thanks! I’m gearing up for another ride tomorrow and convincing myself that it’ll be much better – because it is TOTALLY a mental battle. How was your kick-ass run that you were inspired to take on?

      • ethelthedean
        March 9, 2012

        It nearly killed me, but great nevertheless. Hope today’s ride was not too hard (and dry at that!)

  2. Stuff I Can't Post
    March 8, 2012

    mamas are the best 🙂 I’m so glad you got to spend some time with yours!! i used to go without seeing my parents for long stretches of time. i would soak in every second with them when i could. and i too would get sad when the time was up.

    currently, they live about an hour from me so i see them as i want. and, since i did spend a while apart from them, not for a second do i take for granted that i can call my mom and say “what’s for dinner” or “i need a place to sleep tonight, i’m sad/lonely/bored/bouncing off my own walls.”

    i totally get why you feel alone after a visit, but never fear dearest…. as you said, another visit is always near by. so…you are always one day closer to a visit than you were yesterday! and in the meantime, i’ll try to make you smile with random blog posts about my unpredictable life. 🙂

    • Audrey
      March 8, 2012

      It’s totally worth being without something for a while so really do learn to appreciate it – sounds like that’s what family is for both of us now. 🙂 I’m glad you’re living close to your folks again, so good to be able to spend that time together when you need it.

      And thanks, I’ll be hanging on to the thought of the next visit for sure. BF and I are talking about a trip to Alaska, possibly in May for my youngest brother’s high school graduation. That or I’m forcing the kid to come visit me… muahahaha!

      Your posts are priceless, they make me nose-spew water and such all the time!

      • Stuff I Can't Post
        March 9, 2012

        you should totally go to alaska! it is one place i have always wanted to go, but never have. or…forceably making your sibling come visit you…that always works too! 🙂

        your posts are great too! i enjoy reading about your life very much! i’m happy to have cyber-met you, friend! 🙂

      • Audrey
        March 9, 2012

        After living there for four years I’ve made an effort to visit at least once each year since I’m in WA now but this year the ticket prices skyrocketed so it didn’t happen. It’ll just be motivation to get my business underway so travel funds can increase… 🙂 If you ever get the chance to go, do it – it’s such a beautiful, wild place!

        Oh, and thank you! I’m so glad I’ve met you too, you always bring a smile to my face. 🙂

  3. Cheryl Townsley
    March 8, 2012

    Moms are the best! So glad you got the ‘special, unexpected’ time together.
    Congratulations on getting that ride done — – many more miles to come, but you will master each and everyone!

    • Audrey
      March 9, 2012

      I’m so glad you both got to meet last summer, if only briefly.

      And thank you! Yes, many miles ahead. I’ll have to keep a log for this challenge just to see!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 8, 2012 by in Cycling, Family, Food, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , .
