Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tasty Tuesdays: Butternut Squash Mac’n’Cheese

While I have the deliciousness of Tasty Tuesday’s now happening on a regular basis, BF and I have started hosting dinner parties on Thursdays with our friends.  It’s offered me plenty of opportunity to come up with even more culinary bliss for us to enjoy and then for me to share on this blog.  Since being gluten-free and trying to eat more healthy I have not been able to indulge in a good bite of macaroni and cheese, and boy, do I miss it!  And so this guilt-free, easy, creamy, cheesy recipe was born.  And since I’m such a carnivore, I opted to add some local, grass-fed, ground beef to the mixture.  It kicks Hamburger Helper’s ass!

What you need:

  • 1 butternut squash
  • 1 lbs. ground beef (optional)
  • 1 package macaroni pasta (I used gluten-free penne)
  • 4 oz. white cheddar cheese
  • 4. oz. Havarti cheese
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1 tbsp. coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp. flour (almond flour for gluten-free)
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 bunch scallions
  • Salt and pepper to taste

What you do:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  Halve the butternut squash, remove the pulp in the center, and place it on a cookie sheet.  Bake the squash until it is tender when poked with a fork.  Set aside to cool.

Brown your ground beef in a skillet and set aside.  Shred all the cheese, and finely chop the scallions.  Scoop out all the squash and purée in a blender or food processor.

Cook your pasta according to the packaging instructions.  If you’re using gluten-free pasta, depending on what it’s made from, it may cook more quickly than regular pasta.  Add a bit of coconut oil and sea salt for flavor.

In a pot over medium heat, combine coconut oil and flour with a whisk.  Stir in milk and add herbs and spices.  Add cheese and mix well until it melts into the sauce.  Stir in the squash, ground beef, and the pasta.  See?  Easy.

Dish up, garnish with scallions and  enjoy!

Note: I was able to serve this up to people with a variety of food preferences.  I dished up for the vegetarian before I added the beef to the sauce.  Made regular AND gluten-free pasta since I’m the only one with gluten issues.  Everyone was able to enjoy it their way!

11 comments on “Tasty Tuesdays: Butternut Squash Mac’n’Cheese

  1. Lisa
    March 6, 2012

    This looks sooooo good!!!! Can’t wait to try this recipe. I love how versatile it is (vegan, vegetarian, gluten free, yada yada yada)
    ps. I think we all have issues with gluten. Probably more prevalent than we realize.

    • Audrey
      March 6, 2012

      Keep me posted on how it turns out for you! 🙂 I think you’re right, from all I’ve researched so far it seems like our digestive systems may not quite have adjusted to the changes we’ve made in food sources… I don’t have celiac or anything but I’ve noticed I feel so much better without gluten.

      • Lisa
        March 6, 2012

        I am slowly, but surely eliminating gluten foods from my diet. I really believe it’s helping!

  2. Cheryl Townsley
    March 6, 2012

    That sounds and looks amazing!!!

  3. edrevets
    March 7, 2012

    Why would you show me a picture of such cheesy deliciousness when you know perfectly well I won’t be able to eat any of it? WHY WHY WHY?

    • Audrey
      March 7, 2012

      You’re not able to eat it??? Sad, sad day!

  4. motherofwonder
    March 7, 2012

    all men may be equal but all mac and cheese are not! This looks and sounds delicious! I’m going to give it a try!

    • Audrey
      March 7, 2012

      Keep me posted on how it turns out for you! 🙂

  5. Stuff I Can't Post
    March 8, 2012

    OMG. I am drooling!!!! Yes please. Seconds and thirds. I am totally making this for dinner this weekend. YUM!!!

    • Audrey
      March 9, 2012

      It was so good, plus I love that it’s more healthy than regular mac’n’cheese so no guilt but all the indulgence!

      • Stuff I Can't Post
        March 9, 2012

        Yum yum yum!!! Thank you for sharing! 🙂 I am super excited to try this!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2012 by in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , .
