Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Honor

BF took me out for a cozy date last night.  He knew that I’d been wanting to see Act Of Valor in theatres.  I was impressed that it was based on real stories and that it was acted out by real Navy SEALs.  It was well-worth watching!  The dialogue is wooden and forced in some places because, hey, these guys aren’t professional actors.  But the story is moving, the cinematography is unique and stunning, and the characters are relatable and touching.  My patriotic spirit rose up within me.  Yes, it’s a prettied-up version of battle, but it was the stories of those brothers in arms that touched my heart.  The heroism, the honor, the courage,  the camaraderie, the sacrifice, and the strength of these men is real.

Act Of Valor really touch my heart, I was surprised how much so.  I have no alliance to a particular branch of the military, the sense of service to county runs strong in my veins though.  My grandfather was a gunner’s mate in the Navy, my father was an aviation electrician in the Air Force, one of my two younger brothers has already served a term in Afghanistan, and the youngest brother has been accepted to the esoteric focus of linguistics (a man after my own heart!) as a reserve until he graduates from high school.    A film like Act Of Valor reminds me how proud I am of the men in my family who have served my country.  Growing up in such a family I know that the film I saw last night was not the reality.  It’s not all guns blazing, rescue the hostages, stop the bad guys, save the world.  But I still found much to stir up my admiration and patriotic spirit.  Honestly, I left the movie theatre with a full heart and teary eyes.

My brother who has already served in Afghanistan has taken his position of leadership so seriously.  He maintains a humility and leads by serving his brothers in arms.  He’s the one who volunteers himself for extra missions because he doesn’t want to risk his guys going out.  I couldn’t be more proud of him and honored that he’s by brother.  I’ve heard some of the horrors he’s experienced during his tour of duty and it makes me respect him all the more.

The youngest brother is still living at home, finishing high school but he’s been equally impressive.  He’s managed to get into the Army’s linguistic program – a rare feat requiring adaptability, intelligence, and teachability.

My brothers are amazing men, they inspire me and I’m more proud of them than I can say.  And I’m so very grateful for all the men and women who have served in our Armed Forces.  Act Of Valor is a tribute those men and women, a reminder to be grateful for the freedoms we enjoy and the cost of those freedoms.

3 comments on “Honor

  1. captainariel
    March 3, 2012

    Aww. This made me want to cry! You do have incredible brothers! :] ❤

  2. ethelthedean
    March 5, 2012

    So many wonderful posts this weekend! Reading this reminds me of how important it is to look at the world from so many different angles and perspectives – it helps keeps us grounded while at the same time promotes understanding and acceptance.

    Your love for your family is honest and admirable. It’s love like that which makes the world a better place!

    • Audrey
      March 6, 2012

      It can be kind of controversial whenever we talk about the military it seems like – to me those soldiers all have the faces of my brothers now, whether they fight or bring relief. People find it funny that I’ve worked in the Middle East with Iraqi refugees while my brother goes off to war in Afghanistan – but if we’re called to love all people, there’s really no dichotomy there.

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this too, I love getting other angles on it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 3, 2012 by in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
