Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

90 Days to Race Pace

I’m on the Body by Vi Challenge and yesterday closed out my 3rd 90 Day Challenge. The goal was to run my first 10k EVER. For someone who never used to run, this was a huge goal for me. I ended up trail running the 10k and had to walk some of the brutal, long hills but I call it a success! So now the question is: What will my 4th 90 Day Challenge be?

In my beautiful corner of the Pacific Northwest we have an annual 100 mile relay race called Ski to Sea that starts at our beloved and iconic Mount Baker and runs all the way to Bellingham Bay. It’s been a dream of mine to compete in this race for a few years now. This year it will happen. I’ve formed up a team of 8 people, we will send in our entry fee in a few short days. And so the training begins.

I’m going to do the road bike leg of this race. 44 miles of hilly county road await me. I got back on a bike for the first time in 10 years last winter. It was my 90 Day Challenge goal in the summer to cycle to work and back – a 30 mile round trip. I ended up making that commute on my bike 2 days a week up through September when the weather made it less pleasant. I know I can do the 44 mile distance for this race. But I want to do more than finish – I want to be a competitor.

Right now I cycle at a pretty normal pace: around 12-15 mph. Upwards of 20 mph is generally considered “race pace”. That’s my goal. I hope to average 20-25 mph for the race. The race takes place at the end of May which gives me about 90 days to train for it. It’s on!

Photo courtesy of Specialized.

The plan: start riding again. I’ve moved to a house that’s further from work – ironically, it comes out to a 44 mile round trip. So I’ll start cycling this, one way at the beginning until I can get back up to snuff for the full ride. Some longer weekend rides with BF will also put me in great shape. I have the best trainer in the world – BF is an excellent and FAST cyclist and he wants to see me succeed in this. We’re also eyeballing a new bike for me – a version of what I already ride but with higher-grade components: the Specialized Dolce. And I’ll be investing in clip-in pedals and shoes. Learning how to ride with clip-ins will be a tale of humor and woe, no doubt. I’ll be sure to share how it goes.

Wish me luck! 90 Days to Race Pace – here I come!

20 comments on “90 Days to Race Pace

  1. The Byronic Man
    March 1, 2012

    I did my first 10K this summer, and just yesterday I committed to a half-marathon. I may not have thought this through…

    • Audrey
      March 1, 2012

      A half marathon… That’s quite the undertaking! Good luck. How long do you have to train for it? I’m going to try for a 10 mile obstacle course in June – The Tough Mudder.

  2. Lisa
    March 1, 2012

    Good luck, Audry! I know you can do it girl!!!

    • Audrey
      March 1, 2012

      Thanks, Lisa! I’m excited for this! πŸ™‚

  3. ethelthedean
    March 1, 2012

    You are a blinkin’ superwoman. Holy smokes! Also, that bike is sooooo pretty. I like. I like A LOT.

    I seriously love riding my bike (but I’m a fairweather biker – normally between April and Early October are the months that you can find me astride my ride.) I also totally dig these challenges that you are setting for yourself and I look forward to reading more about them as you progress through your training.

    I’ve mapped out a few goals for the next year too: Tough Mudder, marathon, and then sometime next summer (2013) I’d like to enter a triathlon. It can be hard to talk about these events with people who either 1.) don’t understand why you are doing it or 2.) have never undertaken (nor wanted to undertake) something of such magnitude.

    I’m glad that I can bounce ideas off of you and learn from your experiences. πŸ™‚

    • Audrey
      March 1, 2012

      Haha, I think you’re a superwoman! All those half marathons and such – you’d leave me and my short legs in the dust. πŸ˜‰

      I’ve been a fair weather rider so far too but with the timing of this I’m going to have to get in gear early. That’s probably the beauty of doing this challenge, it makes you really get going! I’m always looking for more friends to join us in doing the Challenge. Feel free to check it out. I use those protein shakes to make sure I get all the nutrients I need and it’s helped so much.

      Your goals are awesome! I’m so excited that we’ll both be going to do the Tough Mudder. And doing a triathlon, that’s huge!! You’re so right, its great to be able to share this with people but sometimes hard to find friends who understand. So glad I have you to be pumped up with! Keep me posted on how all of your training goes!

  4. Cheryl Townsley
    March 1, 2012

    have a great race and great fun training!

    • Audrey
      March 1, 2012

      Thank you, Cheryl! I’m thrilled we were able to get a team together. We’ll make it a ViSalus team Challenge, I think!

  5. Transient Mountain Biker
    March 1, 2012

    Do you live in Bellingham?? I am very seriously considering moving there in order to be close to all the awesome mountain biking. I just need to find a job first! Hopefully something bike or outdoor related.

    • Audrey
      March 1, 2012

      I do live in Bellingham, born and raised. I’ve traveled around but I keep ending up back here. You should definitely move here, you’d love it! My bf mountain bikes almost all year and when the snow comes he gets to snowboard at the mountain. There’s plenty to do outside, excellent food. If you come out, hit us up. The bf is always looking for people to ride with at Galbraith. πŸ™‚

      • Transient Mountain Biker
        March 1, 2012

        Very cool. Do you know any places that are hiring? It doesn’t matter what kind of job.

      • Audrey
        March 1, 2012

        I don’t know of any offhand, it can be hard to find work around here sometimes. If I think of anything I’ll let you know!

  6. Curly Carly
    March 1, 2012

    That’s awesome, congrats! I’m right there with you…I’ve never been a runner, so I’m very impressed that you were able to run that far.

    My grandpa is about 75 years old and just ran a half marathon this past weekend. That blows my mind.

    • Audrey
      March 2, 2012

      It’s been a challenge but it’s pretty cool to do something that I used to think I “couldn’t”. πŸ™‚ Thanks!

      Okay, that’s so cool about your grandpa!! I can’t even imagine – mad props to him!

  7. lesleycarter
    March 2, 2012

    Great quote! I couldn’t love it more πŸ™‚

    Lesley Carter (Bucket List Publications Editor)
    http://www.bucketlistpublications.com/
    http://lesleycarter.wordpress.com/
    https://twitter.com/#!/LesleyMCarter

  8. captainariel
    March 2, 2012

    I have to say I’m scared and excited for you! Lol I ride my bike everywhere here, but at first thy W’s really hrs because I haven’t really ridden a bike since elementary! Haha But I’m happy for you and know you can do this! πŸ˜€

    • Audrey
      March 3, 2012

      Thanks! I’m excited for the challenge, it’s been such a great way to stretch myself beyond what I used to think I could do. Can’t wait to hear what you decide to do for some of your challenges!

  9. whatimeant2say
    March 3, 2012

    Now I really feel like a lazy bum. But, I sure do covet that bike!

    • Audrey
      March 3, 2012

      I love my bicycle!! Confession: I bought it just because it was so pretty and I liked the color.

  10. Pingback: Reunited (And It Feels So Good) « Dangerously Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2012 by in Adventure, Cycling, Dreams, Fun and tagged , , , , , .
