Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tasty Tuesdays: Coconut Ginger Lime Prawns

The name is a mouthful, but believe you me that this is a new favorite meal!  This was purely experimental, I thought this had a bit of a Caribbean flair to it but the ginger makes it somewhat Asian influenced so we’ll just call this one a fusion dish.

Here’s what you need:

  • 25-30 large prawns
  • 2 bell peppers
  • 1 sweet yellow onion
  • 1 head spinach
  • Juice of 2 limes
  • 2 cans coconut milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 roma tomato
  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbsp. ginger
  • 7 basil leaves
  • 3 tbsp. coconut oil
  • Sea salt to taste
  • Sriracha chili sauce

What you do:

Start cooking your rice according to the packaging instructions.  Add a 1/2 tbsp of coconut oil, a few grinds of sea salt, juice of half a lime, and the coconut water from a can of coconut milk (set the thicker cream aside in a bowl for later) to the rice as it cooks.

Ingredients

Chop the onion, bell peppers, and tomato.  Place in a large skillet with a tbsp. of coconut oil and sauté on medium heat.  Add juice of 1 lime, 1 tbsp. of ginger, garlic, and contents of one can coconut milk when vegetables are softened and onion has carmelized.  Add spinach and basil and simmer at low heat stirring occasionally.

Veggies in coconut milk

In a bowl mix the creamy coconut milk that you set aside earlier, 1 tbsp. ginger, juice of half a lime, egg, and add flour as needed to thicken.  Mixture will be thick but should not contain clumps.

Remove heads and shells from prawns.   Heat 1 tbsp. coconut oil in a skillet at medium heat.  When oil melts, dredge prawns in the coconut/flour mixture and place in skillet.  Batter should turn golden brown after 2-3 minutes.  If oil in skillet starts to splatter, reduce heat.  Use tongs to turn prawns to the other side and fry again until golden brown.  Remove immediately and place on plate with paper towels to soak in any excess oil.

Rice should be done by now.  Spoon rice and coconut vegetables on plates.  Serve with prawns.  Set out Sriracha chili sauce for garnish.

Dig in!

Enjoy!

P.S. In honor of Fat Tuesday, I’m going to try my hand at making some gumbo tonight.  I’ll let you know how it turns out…

8 comments on “Tasty Tuesdays: Coconut Ginger Lime Prawns

  1. ethelthedean
    February 21, 2012

    This looks heavenly. You knock these food posts right out of the park! Also that first photo makes me so, so happy.

    That’s what a happy kitchen looks like.

    Also, I am laughing to myself because just as I change the layout to my blog, you do the same. BECAUSE WE ARE THE SAME.

    (is it getting old that I keep saying this? If it is I’m sorry, but it seriously makes me laugh!)

    Now I am going to go dream of tasty, tasty, shrimp…

    • Audrey
      February 21, 2012

      Hahaha, I noticed you changed your layout and almost said something! Too funny! We are definitely twins separated at birth…

      I’m working a recipe book project right now so the inspiration is in overdrive! If you make it, let me know how goes!

  2. The Byronic Man
    February 22, 2012

    I love every single word in the name of this dish. Combined should be fantastic.

    • Audrey
      February 22, 2012

      So do I! If you make it, let me know how it goes.

  3. susielindau
    February 23, 2012

    Yummy! I am going to copy your fabulous recipe!

    • Audrey
      February 25, 2012

      Let me know how it goes for you! 🙂

  4. 3guys1movie
    February 26, 2012

    Thanks for making me so hungry, that looks scrumptious

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2012 by in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , .
