Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tasty Tuesdays: Steak with Cabernet Reduction

Coming to you with a truly decadent meal this week!  It’s perfect for impressing company with your cooking prowess or just for indulging in some deliciousness.  I enjoy a good glass of wine, and wine with a tasty dish is just culinary brilliance!  Consequently, making wine reductions is fast becoming a favorite cooking technique for me.  It probably helps that I get to sip on the leftover Cabernet while I cook…  This recipe is surprisingly easy and I was so pleased with how it turned out.  So here we go!

What you need (serves 4):

  • 4 steaks (I had tri-tip on hand but any cut you prefer is fine)
  • 1 lbs. of crimini mushrooms – sliced
  • 1 c. of Cabernet-Savignon
  • 1 c. of beef broth
  • 1/4 c. flour/almond flour (almond flour is a great gluten-free option)
  • black pepper – ground
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil (I prefer coconut oil)
  • 1/2 head of parsley – finely chopped

Lay out the steaks on a flat surface, tenderize, and grind black pepper to coat one side of each steak.  Place 1 tbsp of oil in a skillet and heat until almost smoking.  Lay steaks in the skillet, pepper side down and sear for 2-3 minutes.  Turn steaks and sear the other side.  We’re shooting for medium rare here but cook times will vary depending on how well-done your like your steak and how thick the cut is.  Remove steaks from skillet and set aside.

Using the same skillet, add the other tbsp of oil and the sliced mushrooms.  Saute these until the mushrooms have given off their liquid and are soft.  Add the wine to the skillet and bring to a slow boil.  Let the wine boil until it reduces by half.  Now add the beef broth and boil until this reduces by two-thirds.  Add flour as needed to thicken the sauce.

Serve steaks with mushroom reduction poured over the peppered side and garnished with parsley.  See?  Not so difficult at all!  And of course, a great wine accompaniment to your meal is the leftover Cabernet – Enjoy!

Steak with crimini Cabernet reduction

Side note: Darling BF made some fabulous potatoes to go with our meal.  Just cook onions, kale, garlic, potatoes, and some seasoning salt in a skillet.  Then spread gouda over top.  And a great veggie dish for this meal is a spinach salad or some roasted asparagus.

13 comments on “Tasty Tuesdays: Steak with Cabernet Reduction

  1. booksnob
    February 7, 2012

    Audrey, I really thought I was already following you! Ooops.

    Anyway, your steak looks super tasty and I want some cabernet with asparagus now!

    Do you primarily eat gluten-free, or was the almond flour just for readers?

    • audreygjohnson
      February 7, 2012

      Oh funny, well I’m glad you’re here now!
      Yes, I’m gluten-resistant and also lactose intolerant. I’m a mess! 😉 I found out in July and its been a special challenge to cook gluten-free, but I’m loving it so far!

      • booksnob
        February 7, 2012

        A friend of mine has a blog dedicated to gluten-free baking. Maybe check her out, see if there’s anything you’re interested in?

      • audreygjohnson
        February 7, 2012

        That’s awesome! I’ll definitely check it, always looking for more options and ideas. Thanks!

  2. Stuff I Can't Post
    February 7, 2012

    So….as I read this, I’m eating a salad. A BORING SALAD. This looks SO yummy! I am going to try this over the weekend- I’ll let you know how it goes!

    • audreygjohnson
      February 7, 2012

      Oh man, that IS rough! Yes, definitely keep me posted on how it goes for you. And don’t forget the wine part, that’s probably the most important – especially after dealing with Beast all week. 🙂

      • Stuff I Can't Post
        February 14, 2012

        This was FANTASTIC!!!! Perhaps it was because the wine was also fab…and I may or may not have had a glass or two prior to beginning the meal…but this was really great. It was the perfect beginning of a Beast-free weekend. 🙂 Thank you for sharing and I look forward to more yummy ideas!

      • audreygjohnson
        February 14, 2012

        Excellent! I’m so glad you enjoyed it – the wine sipping definitely helps, don’t you think? 😉
        New recipe was posted today!

      • Stuff I Can't Post
        February 14, 2012

        Oh yes…wine sipping is imperative after a beastly week…. or just cause it’s great wine. 🙂 and YEAH!!!! I’ll check the new one too! Awesome!

  3. ethelthedean
    February 8, 2012

    I don`t eat red meat (not judgement on my part – my hippie parents raised us as veggies), but my husbands does, and I`m going to pass this recipe on to him because I know he would love it.

    Plus I could eat those mushrooms with that sauce over potatoes until they came out of my nose. They look a-mazing.

    • audreygjohnson
      February 8, 2012

      Might even work well with eggplant, just a thought. Now I kinda want to try that! Hope your hubby and his fam enjoy it!

  4. susielindau
    February 9, 2012

    Yum! Okay, now my stomach is really growling….

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 7, 2012 by in Food, Recipes, Something New and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
