Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

And The Award Goes To…

Who’s got the best mom in the world?  This girl!  Yes, you’ve probably got an amazing argument as to why your mother is better by far, but I can’t be convinced.  I am Gibraltar!  Solid in my conviction that my mom is the most wonderful mom to walk the earth.  Moms are pretty amazing in general, aren’t they?

My beloved mother is celebrating 50 years of life today!  A golden birthday.  Honestly, my heart aches to not be with her today.  We would toast her grand life and toast to many more fantastic years ahead.  My little corner of Washington and her little island in Alaska are much too far apart, especially today.

Memories of my childhood are precious to me because of her efforts.  She was a stay-at-home mom.  When I was a toddler, our days were spent surrounded with books, crayons, tea sets, and stuffed animals.  In my adolescence, our evenings were spent with her sitting on my bed, talking long into the night about hopes, dreams, and aspirations.  Into my teenage years, she would pick me up from school so we could have lunches together.  And now that I’m away from home, we chatter like friends over the phone and I monopolize her time when she visits with pedicures, shopping, and wine tasting.

This beautiful and loving woman wins hearts wherever she goes.  She is full of life – people consistently mistake us for sisters (to my chagrin) and she loves it.  She is radiant – stunning inside and out.  She is genuinely kind – my friends growing up were enthralled with her sweetness.  She is an overcomer – enduring hardships and difficulties over the years with hope.  She is flexible – one of the most adaptable people and I know.  She is patient – I’ve learned serenity from her example.  She is loving – giving fully of herself to those she cares for.  She is giving – with a full heart and ready hands to help.  You can see why I look up to her.

So here is to a fabulous, gorgeous, and amazing lady.  Happy birthday, mom!

5 comments on “And The Award Goes To…

  1. whatimeant2say
    January 27, 2012

    There is NO WAY your mom is 50 years old! She is gorgeous! And you are, too!

    • audreygjohnson
      January 27, 2012

      She is so beautiful! I really hope I end up with those “graceful maturation” genetics… And you are too kind, thank you!

  2. ethelthedean
    January 28, 2012

    Heck yes, a toast to mothers (and an extra one for yours)! Being so far away certainly makes those times together so special. I hope she had a great day!

  3. You are a very sweet daughter – what a wonderful post for your mom! If I were her, I would be sending a link to all of my friends. 🙂

    • audreygjohnson
      February 6, 2012

      My mama is well-deserving of the praise. Thank you for your kindness. I have so been enjoying your blog, by the way, so fun!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 26, 2012 by in Dreams, Family, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , .
