Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

When I Grow Up…

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”  A firefighter?  A ballerina?  An astronaut?  So many options ahead when you’re five years old, and we were told we could do whatever we put our minds to.  We all remember being asked that question at some point, probably more often than we liked, especially during the high school and college years when we weren’t quite sure anymore.

I remember wanting to be a veterinarian until I discovered how queasy I felt at the sight of blood.  Let’s not imagine people bringing their beloved pets in to me as I drop into a heap of petticoats denim on the floor…  Then I wanted to be a horse racing jockey, until I grew too tall and wide.  I don’t know how that works when I’m only 5’1″ but I’ll blame it on the womanish figure…  There are two dream careers that still stand out to me though.  One of them is language studies – particularly humanitarian aid work as a translator. The other one is to write; to be paid to write, to be published, to live in a world of creativity and beautiful words.

From conception of this dream, I pictured my bookish self wandering the globe for experiences and inspiration.  Sharing the stories of those around the world without a voice to speak for themselves.  Or perhaps sitting at a busy coffee shop interviewing inspiring individuals so I could encourage others to pursue their goals with fearless abandon.  Perhaps these are unrealistic expectations, but its my dream and its going to be fantastic and earth-shattering if I can help it.

Then for years I forgot about this writing passion.  How could I have forgotten a dream that had inspired such passion for life and brought so much contentedness?  Honestly, I’ve narrowed it down to lack of faith.  I didn’t think it was possible that I could become a published and paid writer because there are so many more just like me who long to do the same.  How could I stand out in that crowd?  So the dream was allowed to slip from my grasp, forgotten.

Last month it was resurrected!  I started writing more and more, challenged myself with the goal of writing my first novel in 2012.  Like a phoenix from the ashes, this dream  took flight and I’m filled with renewed passion and determination to see it through.  Possibilities loom on the horizon much as they did when I was a child being asked what I want to do when I grow up.  I want to write!

I received my first writing assignment yesterday from a new magazine geared towards young adult entrepreneurs.  They hope to put 15,000 copies of the magazine into print.  Imagine!  Writing to inspire others like me, who dream impossibly crazy and wild dreams!  And in doing this, making my own dream come true!  Just to write isn’t quite enough for me, I want to write in such a way that I can bring life and hope to those who read, and this is that grand opportunity.  I won’t be paid but I will be published (that’s half the battle), and uncertainty dogs my steps but I’m not worried about it anymore.  If not this, I’ll find other writing ventures.  I’ll find a way to be a voice for the downtrodden, to stir the hearts of the hopeful to action, and give joy and support.

This isn’t a brag post.  Rather, I want it to be an encouragement to other bloggers out there who dream of writing for a living, seeing their literary labors published.  This is for you who want to change the world.  It’s possible!  Hold fast; keep writing and hold that dream like your life depends on it!

9 comments on “When I Grow Up…

  1. Cheryl Townsley
    January 26, 2012

    Beyond cool! So proud of you!! You truly have a gift for language, communicating from the heart and creating a bigger, better world.

    • audreygjohnson
      January 27, 2012

      Thank you, Cheryl! I’m so excited for this, its re-ignited my dream!

  2. ethelthedean
    January 26, 2012

    Loved reading this. I experienced a similar breakthrough a couple of months ago – sudden clarity can be overwhelming, while at the same time incredibly heartening and calming.

    I find inspiration and strength in you words – enjoy this journey!

    • audreygjohnson
      January 27, 2012

      Thanks, Lady! It is definitely overwhelming and celebratory all at once. There are so many good things ahead – for both of us!!

  3. Curly Carly
    January 26, 2012

    That’s so exciting! Good luck!!

    • audreygjohnson
      January 27, 2012

      I’m thrilled, funny what can happen when we’re actually open to opportunity! And thank you!

  4. Ariel Gustafson -Shapsnikoff
    January 28, 2012

    I would buy an Audrey Johnson novel! 😀 But only if it’s signed.

  5. Stuff I Can't Post
    February 1, 2012

    That’s fantastic!!! Good luck!!! 🙂

  6. Pingback: A Day at the Office or, What I Do On My Breaks at Work « Dangerously Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 25, 2012 by in Adventure, Dreams, Fun, Something New and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
