Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

A Little One’s Legacy

Last weekend I found out that some close friends lost their 6 week old baby girl. She passed away in her sleep, a victim of sudden unexpected infant death (SUID – a rare form of SIDS) . Her passing has been tremendously painful for my friends and my heart breaks for them. I struggled with what to write as I thought of the life of this Little One. I photographed her as a “baby bump” when her parents married this summer, I planned her baby shower in the fall, and now I’m coordinating her vigil this weekend. I wept at her birth, filled with joy at meeting her. Now I weep at her passing, grieved to say goodbye. Here is my tribute to a Little One:

This angel joined the ranks of humanity for too short a time, but I’m convinced that she left a far-reaching and profound legacy. In her six weeks of life, she impacted hundreds. In her moments among us, she wrapped tiny hands around our fingers and our hearts, and now she won’t let go.

My friends are an amazing couple, filled with incredible strength and unfathomable love. With the passing of their precious and long-expected daughter they have grown closer; they’ve comforted and loved one another more than I had imagined possible. This sweet baby has cemented their bond – that’s a powerful legacy for a Little One.

Mutual friends have contacted me over the week, sharing their sadness and concern for the mourning parents. So many have asked how they could help, desperate to share in the burden of loss and love. Some of them hadn’t even met the sweet Little One but they ached knowing she was gone. She has brought friends and family together in selflessness and caring to uphold her parents. Her legacy continues as her family sees how much they are loved.

This little girl’s daddy serves in the Army and I stand amazed at the comraderie I’ve seen from his brothers-in-arms. They immediately formed a meal chain to ease the daily burdens of this family and have been at the ready to support in whatever way they can. A tiny baby has brought strangers together in solace, she has revealed true brotherhood and beautiful humanity. The legacy of this Little One has spread so far.

Several churches and social organizations have offered support to the family during this painful time. As I work with some of these people, they have commented to me on how beautiful this darling child was; they’ve been touched by her story and her photos. This Little One has extended her legacy throughout our community.

She is treasured as a priceless gift from Above. She is missed terribly and tearfully. And she lives on in our hearts and memories. She brought joy and hope into our lives – a truly grand legacy for such a small person, and a life well-worth celebrating!

8 comments on “A Little One’s Legacy

  1. whatimeant2say
    January 11, 2012

    That is a heartbreakingly beautiful tribute. Your friends will be grateful, I’m sure.

    • audreygjohnson
      January 11, 2012

      Thank you for your kind thoughts. It’s much appreciated.

  2. Abby
    January 11, 2012

    I know several people who felt the pain of this tragic loss. My heart breaks for all involved, especially the parents. Her passing definitely reminds us all to hold our littles ones and loved ones close every day. Thinking about all who mourn this loss and sending my love your way Audrey.

  3. Curly Carly
    January 11, 2012

    That is absolutely terrible. I can’t imagine what her parents are feeling. They’re lucky to have supportive friends like you. I’m sure that’s what’s keeping them going. I hope they’re able to cope as well as can be expected.

  4. JCantrell
    January 11, 2012

    Beautifully written Audrey. I am still in awe of Emma and Nathan’s strength through this, praying for continued support and peace for their hearts.

  5. oshiana black
    January 11, 2012

    Thank you for writing this. I am also saddened and shocked by the loss of a sweet, inocent, child, whose small hands grasped so many hearts. When sleeping, she appeared to be dreaming of a land far, far away, maybe in the clouds somewhere, because she would wake up and smile, back from wherever her head and body were floating, above everything here on earth. I know she will always be remembered and missed by many people. I loved this child, not only because I was Bonnie’s Godmother, but because she was representitive, to me, of fun, of love, change, growth, and joy.

  6. ethelthedean
    January 13, 2012

    Audrey, I am so sorry for your loss, and my heart goes out to your friends. I wish for you all much love, strength and peace.
    xx

  7. Emma Welch
    July 5, 2012

    Audrey…reading this tribute today brought a lump to my throat and made my heart swell with joy. I am blessed to have met you and count you among my closest friends. I am so happy that you we our first friend to hold our little Bonnie Alaska. Thank you, Emma xx

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 11, 2012 by in Family, Friends, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , .
