Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

A Bouldering Adventure

This last weekend the BF, a friend of ours (we’ll call him Juanito), and I made the trek to Seattle to check out The Seattle Bouldering Project in celebration of the New Year (or perhaps, just because we could)!

This place is like the playland of bouldering.  But maybe I should explain what bouldering is before I get too excited here.  Think rock climbing but without the rope and harness and no more than 25 feet off the ground.  Excellent, yes?!  Okay, now I’ll explain the goodness of SBP.  A warehouse is full of bouldering walls and routes AND the floor of the place is lined with about 18 inches of foam.  THIS is my happy place now…

Kids of all ages (yes, I am 24) can scramble around on what look like giant geometric structures with bright-colored hand and foot holds scattered all over them.  Tape, in all the colors of the rainbow, marks out routes of varying difficulty levels.  SBP runs the experience gamut, drawing hardcore climbers as well as families.  Essentially, complete euphoria for yours truly.  We climbed for about an hour before I discovered there is some value to the idea of pacing oneself.  Dangling from overhangs is fun but exhausting and the skin on our hands was getting raw from the rock composite holds.  Two hours into the day we were ready for refueling and went in search of lunch.

Yay for bouldering (yes, that's me crawling on the ceiling)!

Seattle has some amazing culinary options for the true foodie.  We took off down the road in hope that something scrumptious would catch our eye.  I had in mind that our meal should be something light and nutritious to better fuel our tired muscles and not weight us down when we returned to bouldering.  The BF spotted Island Soul, a bright-colored restaurant with a Caribbean flair and the most wonderful smells emanating from the kitchen.  Light and easy meal, it was NOT!  At this point my tummy got the better of me.  I won’t lie; I stuffed my face, unashamedly.  Yam fries to share, the BF ordered jerk pork ribs, Juanito got Creole gumbo, and this blogger had a fabulous Caribbean curry with goat (and a mojito, since this is a full confessional).  We left happy and very, very full.  Full like those snakes that eat once every 6 months because they swallow a whole antelope in one sitting… ugh.  Off we go back to the bouldering adventure.

Deliciousness has an evil step-sibling - Fullness.

I love all things rock climbing.  Let’s just square that fact away.  HOWEVER, I am very much opposed to bouldering with a full stomach.  Lugging around an extra 15 lbs of food in my belly, while hanging from tenuous holds with hands that feel as though they’ve been thoroughly scrubbed by a cheese grater, is not the best of plans.  And after taking several falls on that foam floor, my curry was bucking at my insides.  The best way I can explain how it feels is: going to Disneyland, eating a chili dog, and then riding the Tower of Terror – no bueno.  We did manage to climb for another two hours, with lots of breaks in between to let our hands rest and our tummies settle.  Another fabulous weekend adventure complete.

Upside-down me!

My conclusion?  It was an excellent day!  I have two phenomenal recommendations if you’re in the Seattle area for a visit or for the day.  Seeking adventure?  Check out The Seattle Bouldering Project.  Your inner child will thank you.  And for a truly tasty culinary experience, stop in to Island Soul.  The staff is welcoming and the food is delectable.

Advisory: These recommendations are not congruent to one another and are best experienced separately.

What was your New Year’s weekend adventure?

8 comments on “A Bouldering Adventure

  1. Conor Bofin
    January 4, 2012

    My 22 year old daughter loves bouldering. She goes around the place with a portable folding bouldering mat. There is a new facility in Dublin called Gravity. http://www.gravityclimbing.ie She was in the room with me a few minutes ago and said your centre looks awesome.
    Happy New Year,
    Conor

    • audreygjohnson
      January 4, 2012

      Thanks for visiting the blog, Conor! Your climbing facility looks like great fun (I’ve always wanted to visit Dublin, anyway). Its a fun sport, awesome that your daughter climbs! Wishing you a Happy New Year as well!

  2. Curly Carly
    January 5, 2012

    Looks like you had fun! I’ve been rock climbing a few times and it was by far the best workout I’ve ever had…you discover muscles you never knew about. And oh, the soreness!

    • audreygjohnson
      January 6, 2012

      It’s definitely a good workout! Did you enjoy it? I’m off to another “workout” today!

  3. captainariel
    March 3, 2012

    I wish we had this at Home!…although now that I said that, I am reminded of how many mountains we have 😀 haha

    • Audrey
      March 3, 2012

      Haha, I thought of the same thing after I learned to climb but the rocks in Dutch are volcanic so they break off too easily to climb. Guess I’ll just have to take you climbing myself…. 😉

  4. captainariel
    March 6, 2012

    O
    g, that’s actually something I’m really wishing for is to go climbing w you! 😀 ❤

  5. Pingback: Bouldering for Beginners « Dangerously Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

