Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Challenging the Resolution

It’s that time again.  Yes, you are permitted to groan as I direct your attention to the coming year with its resolution pressures.  I can already imagine the Nike-clad patrons trooping into the gym next Monday, armed with something akin to resolve.  And come March, I imagine most of these poor souls find themselves in the depths of despair when the thought of a treadmill makes them shudder.

I never did like making New Year’s Resolutions.  The idea of a resolution sounded great but the way everyone joked about them, I assumed the point was to set oneself up for failure.  My conclusion was that I would change things in my life as I wanted and needed to.  I’m finally coming around to setting resolutions.  Now, I’m not going to go Benedict Arnold on you.  Hear me out.  I’ve instead become hooked on the idea of dream setting.  Think goal setting, but with the focus of achieving the things we dream about doing (consequently, this blog was born).  Just the thought of it relaxes and inspires me….

Last year I created a dream board for myself (I’ve mentioned this in a previous post) .  Basically, I listed out things that were important to me; dreams that I wanted to see actually happen within the next year.  Example?  Well, I nurse a penchant for travel, so one of my dreams was to plan a trip to Hawaii for my boyfriend’s birthday.  Mission accomplished!  The dream goals can be as simple as choosing to eat healthier food or saving money.  I even had dreams that related to important relationships in my life and how I wanted to invest in them.  The beauty of the dream board is that it’s visual.  After I list out my dreams, I find photos to illustrate them and captions to define them.  My dream board is on the wall by my desk at work.  I see it everyday, multiple times.  Seeing it is key, because then I’m reminded of what really is important to me.  My dream may be to live each day as if it’s a new adventure so when I’m caught up in the banality of a bad hair day seeing my dream helps me refocus.  You can make a virtual dream board here and print it out.

My trip to Hawaii: boyfriend, North Shore, snowcones, bikini.

The other resolution-like implement that I started using last year was The 90 Day Challenge.  Setting a personal goal and committing to it for 90 days has changed my life!  I’m working on my 3rd 90 Day Challenge now (this one for the New Year is called Resolution Or Else), I’ve gained more energy than I thought was possible, lost 15 lbs of fat, and gained 8 lbs of muscle.  My goal this time is to run my first 10K within 90 days.  And the best part?  My “Or Else” is that I will cut off 10 inches of my hair and donate it to Locks of Love if I don’t complete my challenge.  A goal and a consequence makes this so much more powerful than a plain ol’ resolution.  To find out how you can start your 90 Day Challenge contact me and check this out.

If you need ideas, here are some of my dream board and 90 Day Challenge goals:

  • Writing 3x/week (minimum) for my book
  • Blogging weekly (minimum)
  • Competing in the Tough Mudder 10-12 mi obstacle course
  • Learn to snowshoe at the Annual Romp to Stomp Out Breast Cancer
  • Go to India for a humanitarian aid trip
  • Earn a free ViSalus BMW through my small business
  • Attend all the ViSalus National Events for my small business
  • Get out of debt
  • Road trip to Utah for rock climbing
  • Learn peace and trust through God

What are your dreams for 2012 and how will you make them come true?

4 comments on “Challenging the Resolution

  1. The Byronic Man
    December 29, 2011

    I’ve always liked resolutions. As long as they’re not insanely optimistic (End Hunger, Climb K2, things like that), I kind of like thinking about what I’d like to see happen in the next year, giving it some articulation.

    • audreygjohnson
      December 29, 2011

      It’s so helpful to have that “bliss list” written out, isn’t it? And of course it’s liberating to check things off and see what you’ve accomplished. My inner analytic likes checking things off of lists anyway… Thanks for visiting the post! Your blog is great, keep it up!

  2. ethelthedean
    January 2, 2012

    I got engaged on Oahu’s North Shore (just outside of Haleiwa)! Crazy! And I am also going to sign up for Tough Mudder this year (it’s either that or Warrior Dash, or maybe both?)

    I also always find that the beginning of September is more of a start to a new year (compared to January), just from having been in school for so much of my life – because of this it always seems a bit strange to be making resolutions come Jan1 and not Sept1.

    Great post, and good luck with the 10k. I know you can do it!

    • audreygjohnson
      January 3, 2012

      So jealous! Haleiwa would be an amazing place to get engaged at (the bf and I fell in love with that town).
      And so excited for you to sign up for Tough Mudder, I think we’re going to the one in Vancouver, B.C. since its closest to us. And if you’re looking for a fun 5k mud run I’d recommend checking out the Gladiator Rock ‘n’ Run. Its a bit more challenging than the Warrior Dash and has a bit more fan fare (we did both last year). Go for it!

Leave a Reply

