Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

With Joy, in Sorrow, by Hope

My heart is full today – full of gratitude, full of sadness – brimming with emotion.

Christmas is such a beautiful and meaningful time of year. As I get older though, I’m learning that the wonderment of it all doesn’t negate the experiences of pain and difficulty.  Somewhere in the recesses of my mind, I’d like to think that this season of joy cancels out anything unpleasant. There is still suffering in the world, there are people hurting, and need is everywhere. The fact is that while Christmas doesn’t make those things disappear, we NEED Christmas desperately!

Looking around me, I have seen so many loved ones going through difficulties this month. My boyfriend’s grandma slipped into a coma yesterday, my friend had a house fire last week, and there are so many other loved ones carrying their burdens silently. Christmas Day has its own sting for me as it marks sad memories for my family.

This isn’t over though. My heart bleeds, but it will not break. Hope and joy run deep and I am filled with thankfulness. How can I not be? Love abounds with my family and friends! The spirit of true giving lives on. Goodness and beauty surround my daily life. Gratitude flourishes like the sun rising, brilliant and warm. This is a time of celebration! Christmas Day marks when Hope came to be among us and THAT is a gift to be treasured above all.

Joy rushes in like rolling billows on the shore and through sorrow I still have hope; sometimes like a weak heartbeat, it drums on slowly, but still it is there. Hope pounds against the pain, bursting with passion and a refusal to cower to adversity.

In the dark of night, Hope came – in the most unexpected way, by the most humble of means. A helpless newborn’s cry was its herald.

My encouragement and prayer for you, my readers, is that you experience the joy, peace, and hope of Christmas.  Weep with those who sorrow, laugh with those who rejoice.  May we never become jaded by life and ever see the beauty within it because Hope has come to stay.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 21, 2011 by in Christmas, Family, Friends, Holiday, Holidays, Relationships and tagged , , , .
