Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Weekend of Thankfulness

This is one of my favorite times of year. Thanksgiving offers time with family, the opportunity to gratefully reflect, and the anticipation of Christmas looms in the near future. So many wonderful things to be thankful for; all in a few short days!

I’m learning about splitting special holidays between my family and my man’s family – it makes for a busier, fuller day, but I like it! We got to meet up with the boyfriend’s mom and grandma for a decadent Thanksgiving buffet at one of my all-time favorite restaurants, Guiseppe’s Al Porto. Think of the most delectable Italian food you’ve had and multiply it by 5 – that’s Guiseppe’s.  And for one better, its right along stunning Puget Sound with the San Juan Islands resting in the distance.  Location, location, location.  We had a great time visiting and laughing over a fabulous meal, plus no prep work or clean up required. I call it a win! I’m thankful for my not-quite-in-laws and love them dearly.

Then we were over the river and through the woods (quite literally) to my grandmother’s house. Still full from our recent feast, we got to spend the evening visiting with aunts, uncles, and cousins. Everyone left by late afternoon and we had the treat of a tête-à-tête with my grandma over a glass of wine. Sharing funny stories, hearing about my great grandparents when they were my age, snuggling up for photo ops – it was a grand evening. I’m thankful for my family and my beautiful, strong grandma in particular.

And with a long and lovely weekend ahead I made my plans to enjoy it to the fullest! Friday I baked, and I baked, and I baked. We licked clean every mixing bowl and spoon and filled our tummies with more sugary deliciousness than we’ve had in the last month! I’m thankful for the time and resources to make some Christmas cookies for my family and friends.

Then it was Saturday. Time to decorate for Christmas! I’ve actually spent the last three days decorating four houses for Christmas and loved every minute of it. All it takes is a glass of eggnog, some Christmas music in the background, a cozy house, and beautiful ornaments – I’m in my happy place! I’m thankful for moments when I can release my inner artist and create beauty.

I miss my family this time of year. My mom and youngest brother are in Alaska, my dad is visiting his mom in Mississippi, my other brother is with his lovely wife (whom I have yet to meet!) in Kentucky, and my other grandma, one of my wonderful aunties, and her sweet family are in the South. But I’m thankful! I’m thankful I could spend Thanksgiving last year with some of them in Georgia, thankful that my mom got to visit me two weeks ago, thankful that my dad is coming to visit this weekend, thankful that I had so many beautiful family members and friends to spend Thanksgiving with this year, and thankful for my amazing man as we celebrated our first Thanksgiving together.

What are you thankful for?

One comment on “Weekend of Thankfulness

  1. Joni Beach
    November 29, 2011

    I, like you, love Thanksgiving…it is the holiday that my extended family has a reunion too! It’s so special…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 29, 2011 by in Autumn, Family, Food, Friends, Thanksgiving and tagged , , , , , , , .
