Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Cooking Adventures: Butter Chicken

For some weeks now people have been asking me to post recipes of the food I cook.  I’ve been posting photos of the finished product on Facebook, but no details on how to make these yummy dishes, so here we go…  I’ll warn you that I’m a bit of a free spirit when I cook and have been doing some fusion experiments lately.  Feel free to take the base of this recipe and make it what you’d like, that’s the fun and creative part about cooking!

First, I’ll set some water to boil for rice – about 1.5 cups.  I prefer brown rice.  In the water I’ll drop a spoonful of Barleans Coconut Oil and a teaspoon of sea salt (less sodium), they both add a great flavor to the rice.  Add the rice once your water starts to boil.

 

 

Next, slice up one pepper (red, green, the choice is yours!), and one onion (I prefer sweet).  If you want to do a fusion dish like I did, finely chop up a jalapeno too!  Mince two cloves of garlic, dice a half lbs. of chicken into bit-sized chunks, and dice one tomato.  Put it all in a skillet with a spoonful of Barleans coconut oil and turn the burner on medium.

 

 

Add curry powder, chili powder, and paprika to taste (I love these spices so I use two teaspoons of each).  Cook the veggies until they’re tender and the chicken doesn’t show any more pink.  Now you will add the butter chicken sauce.  I found this sauce in the ethnic foods section of my grocery store.  Its easy, gluten-free, and quite delicious.  Add half of the jar to the skillet and mix well.

 

 

Slice up 3 mushrooms (I prefer crimini but white mushrooms work well too) and tear up 3 kale leaves.  Add it all to your skillet and mix it in.  Let it simmer for about 3 minutes.  When the kale starts to wither, its done!

 

 

 

 

Now for the fun part: dish out your rice, spoon the butter chicken mixture over top and garnish with a few sprigs of cilantro.

If you appreciate wine pairings, I would suggest a good Reisling – the sweetness melds well with the spicyness of the dish.

Enjoy!

2 comments on “Cooking Adventures: Butter Chicken

  1. Clamina
    October 20, 2011

    Can’t wait to try it!!! Thanks for sharing Audrey!!!

    • audreygjohnson
      October 21, 2011

      Hope you and your family like it, Clamina! Have a wonderful day, sweet lady.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 20, 2011 by in Food, Recipes.
