Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Pumpkins, and Apples, and Corn Mazes! Oh My!

Already I have regaled my poor readers with my love of all things autumn, and I will do it again!  I’m not a fan of the shorter days, but they make up for it with cozy blankets, good books, and hot tea – so I am satisfied.  And the colors, oh, the incredible leaves!  There’s nothing like a Washington autumn.

I also relish this time of year for the traditions, the family connections.  One of my family’s traditions when I was growing up was to go to a local farm, wander through the pumpkin patch, visit with the barnyard animals, and indulge in a cup of hot cider.  I love this ritual and I decided I wanted to keep it in my life.  This is one of those aspects I appreciate about coming into adulthood: I’m getting to choose my traditions now.  There’s something about maintaining those customs that I grew up with but I revel in making new traditions that I can carry forward too.

The pumpkin patch harkens to times of bliss and innocence for me.  Its good, clean fun mixed with a little happy nostalgia.  Reminds me of days where my biggest concern was finding the “perfect” pumpkin and my looming problem was that my cider was too hot.
Just thinking about it makes me smile.

A Pumpkin Poem

My boyfriend, Kolt, and I have made this a tradition for ourselves now and have invited our friends to join in our autumn ritual.  We headed out to beautiful Stoney Ridge Farm in Everson, WA last weekend.  The weather couldn’t have been more perfect: warmth from the sun with crispiness in the air.

We wandered through rows of Christmas trees awaiting their Christmas destiny in a few short months, through the pumpkin patch with its orange Cinderella coaches, to a field of corn with stalks towering over my head.  We tromped through the corn maze, enjoyed some cider (and pumpkin donuts for Kolt), picked out an adorable pumpkin with a lopsided stem, and the group enjoyed some homemade apple pie piled with caramel sauce and ice cream.  My favorite part was that we had the best of company to spend the day with.

A Cinderella pumpkin.

Our evening ended at a friend’s house with me making beef curry for dinner, sipping peppermint mochas, a bit of pinot noir, and all of us cuddled on the couch watching Alice in Wonderland.  I call it a win!

Carved and Glowing

What are your autumn traditions?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 18, 2011 by in Adventure, Autumn, Friends.
