Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Manifesting Magnificence

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.  Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.  It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us.  We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous?  Actually, who are you not to be?  You are a child of God.  Your playing small doesn’t serve the world.   There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.  We are all meant to shine, as children do.  We are born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us.  It’s not just in some of us, it’s in everyone.  And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.  As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”   Marianne Williamson

I’ve been masticating on this quote for a few days.  This fear of success keeps striking to my heart, especially when I look at what it really does mean to dream dangerously.  I’ve been the mousy girl in the back of the room, content to work behind the scenes, and I’ve blanched at the thought of attention.  Honestly, a part of me still cowers internally at the idea of it.  And I see this in so many others too.  As I’m coming more and more into leadership I start to see this paralyzing fear all around.  I so desire to be that encourager, much like Ms. Williamson, who says, “Rise up!  Overcome this fear, because there is untapped greatness within you!”

Lately, I feel like I can see so much potential within my circle of family, friends, and acquaintances.  There is something just below the surface that screams of triumph and it thrills me!  Our culture is usual in how it encourages individuality, but only to an extent, and fosters success, but only with a labored, unassuming nature.  Yes, it’s very important to be humble, but for the right reasons.  We learn to fear coming into who we truly were made to be and that’s the crux of false humility (at least it was/is for me).  How can we tell God that He made us too grand?  Choosing to be infinitesimal and insignificant serves too low a purpose than that which we are being called to, as if a vase can choose to become a spittoon.

I am created in the image of God, there is a power in that, and how dare I shirk from the glory and responsibility extended to me!  “Power” has almost become a four letter word for some of us, disheartening as that may be.  It is not something that has to be seized like we so often think.  It’s already imbued within our spirits by our Creator: conceived by a Master Planner and fueled by the dreams He instills in our hearts.  That excites me and I hope it does for you too!

There’s freedom just around the corner.  Sometimes the journey to leaving behind our past chains and hurts is a difficult road marred with potholes.  That’s an aspect I’m still learning about and I would venture to guess that the journey encompasses a lifetime.  One of my friends has been reminding me of the importance of living in the present, releasing the past (which includes extending forgiveness), and holding the future with open hands.  The latter part has been a point of contention for me, I like having a say in my future, having a semblance of control.  But to truly shine, to embody the magnificence inside each of us, we have to be willing to receive whatever that glory brings.  We have to be open to those crazy, big dreams.  We must approach the future with open hands because now we know there are wonders ahead far greater than we can imagine and we dare not hold them back.

Again, I say its time to rise up!  Its time to dream by day, and dream with reckless abandon.

One comment on “Manifesting Magnificence

  1. Shay Jordan
    April 16, 2012

    You are such an inspiration :). Love you and miss you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 27, 2011 by in Dreams.
