Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Waking Dreams and Walking Dreams

There are periods in my life where certain focuses take over my
thoughts. We all get on our kicks; a time of reinventing the wheel as it suits
us best. And my most recent one involves reassessing my goals and plans for the
coming months and year. Without setting aims periodically I find I can lose
track. There are so many dreams and aspirations to see accomplished but without
accountability there isn’t enough ambition to attain them. These hopes and
desires hidden in the deep recesses of our minds need to be nurtured and walked
out.

There are a couple of tools in my arsenal when I need to do this
assessment. I have a “dream board” of my goals documented by pictures
and captions stuck to a corkboard. Due to changes in my life over the past few
months I now have TWO dream boards. One of them I created at the beginning of
the year and most of the goals have been checked off of the list. So I had to
create another dream board. Dreams don’t go on hold just because some are
complete – onward and forward. For example: at the beginning of the year I had
some travel, health, financial, and relational goals in mind like going to
Hawaii with my boyfriend, getting into rock climbing and cycling, and eating a
cleaner diet. Those have all happened, so now for the honing. I plan to ride my
bicycle in a 50 mile race this coming Sunday, increase my skill level by two
points in rock climbing, earn a BMW through my business, and save to go to a
company event in Atlanta next month. I love these dreams! They push me to be a
better, more rounded person – not to mention they make for wonderful
adventures!

Another tool I’ve been using lately and I’m excited to share
about is a book that inspires me in pursuing my dreams: Soul Cravings by Irwin
McManus. This is my second read through; the first time was about 3 years ago.
Like I said, we all get on our kicks.

Soul Cravings by Erwin McManus

The draw of Soul Cravings to me is that McManus allows his
humanity to shine through. He speaks on apologetics in a tangible and
conversation way and the entries are no more than 5 pages. When I think my poor
heart will burst from wanting to see dreams fulfilled, I can lay this book
aside and think on it for hours and days until I’m ready to pick it up again. I
highly recommend. McManus recognizes that our hearts hold hope of great aspirations,
inspired by God, but sometimes along the road of life they get bludgeoned by
reality. Those dreams should be nursed to health, some of them should be
refocused, and others get replaced entirely.

I’m in a period of refocusing dreams right now.  Since I last read Soul Cravings my life has change dramatically.  Sure, I still work at the same place, but my sphere of
influence has changed, my outlook on life is different, even my own personality
is somewhat altered.  So now as I reassess there are new priorities that surge to the forefront.  Some of the dreams I once had seem so pathetically small but at the time if my current dreams had been glimpsed I probably would have discounted them as impossibilities.  Its amazing to me how God really does want to
co-create with us but we let ourselves get in the way too often.  Thankfully He moves us past our shortcomings, if we allow it.  Refocusing is so
necessary because we may find ourselves glimpsing our future, and despite the
trepidation, seeing opportunities to step into it with courage.  It thrills my heart that my Creator wants to co-create with me!

So I encourage you to dream, and dream again, and again.  And if you need a little inspiration, check out Soul Cravings: http://www.amazon.com/Soul-Cravings-Erwin-Raphael-McManus/dp/0785214941 With this and other books I would suggest that you read it with wisdom and discernment, receive the good, and leave the irrelevant.

One comment on “Waking Dreams and Walking Dreams

  1. Pingback: Challenging the Resolution | Dangerously Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2011 by in Dreams.
