Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

The Every Day Adventurer

Yesterday J and I were talking about upcoming plans, life, dreams, and everything in between. He was anxious because finances are a little tight after our trip to the south back in April, all the home improvements projects coming up, our aggressive goals to pay off some loans, AND that we are hoping to (possibly) take a trip to Europe next year. How to accomplish all of this had become his Everest and as he realistically sized up that mountain he could see no way to climb it.

I thank God every day for this incredible man. He was so concerned about disappointing me because he knows how much I love to travel. He and I operate so differently. He’s the realist and I’m the daydreamer, he sees what’s happening in the present and I’m looking to a bliss-filled future. I reminded him of that. Whenever we go on a trip I constantly find myself looking forward with anticipation to the next one, talking about it, planning it out. There’s always something on the horizon that I’m reaching toward and wanderlust all too often gets the better of me. J is my reminder to live in the moment, to not miss out on the memories being made this day, and he’s the level head that makes my crazy dreams a reality. I did my best to put his mind at ease. If Europe can’t happen some other adventure will surely take it’s place. And I’m not the type to be heartbroken for long. New plans will be built over the rubble of old ones and I will ever look toward the next journey, whatever it may be.

But all of this got me thinking about what it is to be grounded when you’re a sojourner-at-heart. It doesn’t mean that you’ve failed to live out your passion. There’s a place in all of this for reality, and for the fact that we don’t all have a disposable income. Sometimes the traveler has to put down roots for a time. Sometimes the next journey is merely a run to the grocery store, a weekend camping trip, or an afternoon drive. There are so many incredible things that come from world travel, but we gain even more from learning to be content where we are. Not complacent, but truly content.

That struck home for me yesterday during my conversation with J. I strive for a life of adventure, not lived on the sidelines. And I love experiencing new cultures, meeting new people, seeing new places. But nothing could replace the joy of creating a beautiful life and planning a future with the man I love. Nothing ignites my passion more than the anti-human trafficking work I get to help with each day. Nothing has claim on my heart more than the calling God has placed in it.

I still hope we can make Europe happen, but if it doesn’t, maybe we will go to Hawaii instead. And if that doesn’t work out, maybe we will camp under the stars for a few days. But each day of our lives can be full of adventure – whether we’re exploring ancient ruins half a world away or hiking in the foothills just 30 minutes from home. Whether we’re picking out the choicest fruit from an exotic market or digging the carrots out of our backyard garden. We can celebrate the every day!

I hope that’s an encouragement to all of you travelers out there who find yourselves temporarily grounded, all of you dreamers who are just getting through the day, and all of you adventurers without a destination. A full life is wherever you look for it and create it.

I’ll keep up my dangerous daydreams. You do the same.

2 comments on “The Every Day Adventurer

  1. Robyn Burke
    June 19, 2014

    I am right there in the “lets have an adventure” department, even though I do love my little nest at home. This is rich in description- your writing never disappoints. (Love the new layout on the blog btw)

  2. Denise Hisey
    June 21, 2014

    It’s all about balance, right? You sound like you are good for each other!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2014 by in Adventure, Dreams, Family, Relationships, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 494 other followers

