Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

I Thought I Loved You Then

Today J and I are celebrating 6 months of wedded bliss. I realized that I never told you guys much about the wedding since it was such a busy time. So if you’re not into the mushy stuff I totally understand skipping out on this post. Otherwise, here we go!

On a tight budget and having just purchased a new home, J and I realized we would rather have a simple ceremony and road trip honeymoon than go the traditional wedding route. So on November 13th last year we hopped a plane to Las Vegas. We spent a few days and nights on The Strip with family and friends, managed to pick up J’s suit, grab the marriage license, and hammer out the last few wedding details.

Wedding7

The morning of Friday the 15th hit with a flurry of activity. Despite the busyness I’m so glad I was able to pause and raise a champagne toast with my mom, mom-in-law, and closest friend, as we celebrated the new chapter ahead.

Wedding9

Downstairs I found my handsome groom waiting patiently in his tux. We all piled into a limo. The short drive to downtown Las Vegas was a blur and before long we stood in the parking lot of the tiny wedding chapel. The chapel coordinator rushed me off to a little room to get the last of my makeup in place, snap a few photos, and pull up my dad on Skype. Even from all the way in Mississippi he had dressed in his best suit for the occasion.

Wedding6

And before I knew it, I was waiting at the door of the chapel for the music to start. That walk down the short little aisle was the slowest of my life – as though time stood still. In those few moments I remember praying to God that I wouldn’t trip over my own feet. I’m so thankful that my mama walked beside me and my dad was watching from my iPhone to give me away.

Wedding1

Then we were at the altar, J hugged my mom, I hugged her, and  it was just my groom and I standing before our minister, hands clasped together. The ceremony was short and sweet, just what we wanted. Filled with the solemnity of the moment but without all the pomp that makes us both uncomfortable. I felt my eyes welling with tears as I watched the man before me slip a simple band on my third finger. He is everything that I could have asked for – a man of integrity, courage, determination, a serious and quick mind, who makes me laugh daily, and protects my sensitive heart from a cruel world as best he can. His voice choked with the heaviness of the moment as he repeated our simple vows. My own words came in low tones, thick with emotion, as I promised  him my future, my love, my all. He leaned in to seal the covenant with a kiss. And I forget the rest.

Wedding2

I felt pure ecstasy as we joined hands, turned to our smiling family and friends who filled the few chapel pews, and were announced as Mr. and Mrs. Myers. We marched down the aisle and they followed us into the foyer and beautiful garden outside so we could hug each of them.

Wedding4

A few more photos in the garden and it was time to make our way to the restaurant for a lunch reception. Vegas practically threw our wedding reception for us. The dazzling lights, the entertainment, the food – it was all so much more than we could have put together at home. We missed the family and friends who couldn’t join us but were so thankful to the ones who came out to celebrate with us for the weekend. J’s 30th birthday was the next day so we celebrated by shooting automatic rifles at a range. After that we left the Strip to honeymoon in west Vegas near Red Rock Canyon and begin our road trip through Utah and Arizona.

Wedding3

I can still hardly believe that all of this happened six months ago. Honestly it feels like a lot longer. It’s as though J has always been part of my life – and I can’t imagine living without him. But I have to keep reminding myself that we’re just getting started on this marriage adventure of ours. There is so much more ahead of us and this journey has only just begun.

Wedding5

18 comments on “I Thought I Loved You Then

  1. Meghann
    May 15, 2014

    No way it’s been six months already, although you’re right, it does seem like you’ve been a part of the family for a lot longer. ;)

    I 100% mean it when I say that he is very lucky to have found you. I know you and I aren’t that close (yet), but I feel like I sort of know you, you exude kindness. Your heart is open, loving, kind, hopeful, and HUGE. You strive to make a difference in the lives that you touch. Your confidence at such a young age amazes me, and the things you have accomplished are enviable. You’re such an old soul, Audrey.

    He’s different since meeting you. More grounded, more mature. I see changes every time we are all together, and I hope that you guys continue to bring out the best in each other.

    Life is crazy, marriage can be, too. If I can offer one piece of advice, it’s this: never lose yourself in it all. Remember this post, right here. Remember why you got married. And as long as you’re challenging each other to be better people, it’s worth it.

    I can hardly wait to see where this adventure takes you guys. And I can hardly wait to spend more time getting to know you better. Xoxo

    • Audrey
      May 15, 2014

      Oh, Meghann, thank you for this!
      It’s crazy, isn’t it? Time has just flown by. Seems like only yesterday you guys were still waiting for Baby A to join the world.
      I’m excited to know you better too. Maybe we can squeeze in some barbeques this summer! :)
      J has been such a good foil for me. I’m so glad that you see positive things happening there, it’s a huge encouragement. My prayer is that we can continue spurring each other to be our best.
      And that bit of wisdom is priceless – definitely something I want to keep in mind. Thank you so much! Wishing you a lovely day and looking forward to knowing you more!!

  2. Ariel
    May 15, 2014

    :’) Aww. You are so beautiful! I wish I could have been there. But it sounds perfect, and I am so so happy for you! And I remember telling you about 4 years ago when we became friends that your Fairy Tale would come :) haha. I Love You and am so happy you have J! <3

    • Audrey
      May 15, 2014

      Oh, thank you, Sweetie! It was such a wonderful time. Can’t wait to see what the next 4 years have ahead for you, you little firefighter!! :) Hugs and much love to you!

  3. Sarah
    May 15, 2014

    My dear and darling friend – wow time flies especially when you start a marriage adventure in divine blue heels!!! So my advise … Always take each other with you, say “I do” more than just the first day, and when the laundry piles up (because it will) and the children (someday) have destroyed the house, and dinner is well less than the picture depicted …. remember remember the great piece of the picture is the gift you gave each other – EACH OTHER, so let the laundry pile up, the children/ the dog they will survive, heck cheese and crackers or sandwiches is a great back up dinner – it’s in the grace of loving completely THRU lifes moments that LOVE GROWS IN ABUNDANCE. To a fantastic finish of year 1 and many many more. P.S. shoes are non-negotiables in marriage, they’re just a given for a blissfully happy wife – I’m available to shop for fancy feet updos anytime!!!

    • Audrey
      May 15, 2014

      Thank you, Sarah! Brilliant advise that I’m sure I’ll be holding on to as kids enter the picture and life gets even more crazy. And the shoes – always shoes!! I forget why we haven’t yet embarked on this shoe shopping venture together – it’s long overdue and must be remedied soon. :)

  4. What a sweet tribute, Audrey! Here’s to the first of many marriage milestones for you and J. :)

  5. storiesbywilliams
    May 19, 2014

    I’ve seen some photos of you in your bridal gown, and I think I recall saying you look pretty. But either way, let me say again: You’re preeeeetty! Oh yeah, and he looks good too ;) So you guys tied the knot in Vegas, did you? I have yet to go there and have some reservations. What was it like, warts and all?

    • Audrey
      June 3, 2014

      Thank you, thank you! Vegas was great for us as far as the convenience. It really is my idea of an adult playground – there’s something for everyone, which can be great or not so much… So many cool shows, things to do, and places to see. But it does have a dark side. Just a few minutes into walking along the streets I was ready to punch out some of the guys that were flicking prostitute cards at me. We were done with being on the Strip after about 2 days. Staying on the westernmost edge of Vegas (away from all the busyness and closer to the natural beauty) was wonderful though!

      • storiesbywilliams
        June 3, 2014

        Now that sounds about right. I have heard stories about the prostitution services, and it gives me pause… However, would like to get to the deserts and see the rugged life that lives there!

      • Audrey
        June 3, 2014

        I think if you could get a hotel off the Strip (we honeymooned at Red Rock Resort) or have a way to get out of the city, you would love it! The desert is so beautiful and such a change from the natural beauty we get to enjoy out here. :)

  6. betunada
    May 22, 2014

    good 4 U guise! the best, as “they” (hoo R ‘they’, n-e-weigh?) say, is probably yet to come !

    • Audrey
      June 3, 2014

      Thank you! YES – I told J I want to at least hit the 50 year mark so he better stay healthy. ;)

  7. LAMarcom
    May 27, 2014

    Beautiful sentiments and beautiful photos.
    I wish you both all the best.

    • Audrey
      June 3, 2014

      Thank you!! A long way ahead yet but looking forward to the journey. :)

  8. Silvia Reed
    June 1, 2014

    What a beautiful story Audrey. I love that you and “J” decided to get married the way you wanted (and debt-free is very attractive) other than following the traditional way. A wedding must be the way the love birds design it. It’s all about the couple and all who love you support that decision. Congratulations on your first 6-month anniversary. You make a beautiful couple and I know from the heart it will be many many many more years of celebration. Cheers my friend.

    • Audrey
      June 3, 2014

      Thank you so much, Silvia! I agree, a wedding can’t be dictated by our society so much as by the couple who are making this commitment. Ours was just what we wanted/needed it to be. Yes, cheers to many years ahead!! :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 15, 2014 by in Family, Friends, Relationships and tagged , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 513 other followers

