Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Our Girls

Girls

Photo source: video.swagbucks.com

BRING BACK OUR GIRLS!

This is the message I’ve been trying to shout from the rooftops for the past week.

By now most people have heard about the 276 Nigerian schoolgirls who were abducted from their dorms by a militant Islamic group called Boko Haram (translation: Western Education is Taboo). Boko Haram has said that they will sell the girls as bride-slaves for $12 each.

I felt so helpless, frustrated, and furious when I heard this. What could anyone possibly do to bring these girls safely home – especially since no one seems to know where to find them? Short of booking a flight to Nigeria and trying to hunt these guys down, what can you or I realistically do? I became so aggravated with my own inability and powerlessness. And honestly, I feel that way about any human trafficking atrocities that are taking place, including the injustices in my own community.

But I have a proposition for you – let’s make some waves! Let’s start talking about this thing. We have so much more power than we give ourselves credit for. We can generate awareness, spark conversations, we can speak out our demand for justice, we can share the news articles out there on our social media profiles, on our blogs, on our websites. Our interest in the plight of these schoolgirls gives world leaders a reason to care and take action. We the people have a powerful voice and are hard to ignore when we unite for a cause.

I’m a firm believer that when we choose to do nothing to uphold justice we are siding with evil. If we don’t speak out for those who’s voices have been taken away, who will speak for them? If we don’t stand up for the defenseless, who will demand their right to justice and freedom? These are our girls. We are intrinsically bound by our humanity, and their freedom is as valuable as the freedom of any American girls.

So here’s my heart-felt plea to you – please talk to your friends and family about this, please share the stories of these girls, please write to your political representatives, please pray for their safe return. Our interest in this can change lives half a world away. In the last week I’ve already seen the tide starting to turn – more of my friends are sharing links, the White House has taken notice of this, the US has pledged to support Nigeria in finding the girls. How incredible! So let’s keep up the momentum.

Thank you, truly from the bottom of my heart.

Audrey

bring-back-our-girls

Photo source: thelsheriealert.com

16 comments on “Our Girls

  1. Ariel
    May 9, 2014

    You make a world of a difference, Audrey. <3

  2. storiesbywilliams
    May 9, 2014

    Wow, I just was hearing about this. It’s been all over CBC news and there’s been dozens of petitions and newsletters going about, which I of course signed. It made me at once sad, angry, and wishing I could do something when i heard about this.
    So glad you’re on it :)

    • Audrey
      May 13, 2014

      Sounds like you’ve done quite a bit! I’m so glad that it’s leaking into the media airwaves more and more. You’re awesome for getting the word out – it seems like it really is the biggest way we can make a difference. Lead the charge!! :)

      • storiesbywilliams
        May 13, 2014

        I heard that US drones have been deployed to begin searching for them too. Glad this is actually making waves and initiating policy. Also read up on how the Nigerian PM has basically been a wimp in the face of Boko Haram, and it got me thinking… Well, fantasizing really, about how I would plot an all-out offensive to scour them from my country if I were in charge!

      • Audrey
        May 13, 2014

        Yeah I heard about the search planes today too – so awesome! As far as terrorist orgs go, they don’t seem to be the best armed or best organized by any means. I’m hoping now that there is some unity in the efforts to track them down that they can be found quickly.

      • storiesbywilliams
        May 14, 2014

        There’s been another update. Did you hear about it yet?
        http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-27373287

      • Audrey
        May 15, 2014

        Yeah I saw this video the other day. Infuriating! But I’m so glad the search continues.

  3. storiesbywilliams
    May 9, 2014

    Oh, and I posted the petition to my FB account. Little steps, but I hope it gets some more attention going…

  4. oogenhand
    May 10, 2014

    Reblogged this on oogenhand.

  5. whatimeant2say
    May 10, 2014

    I posted about this on my professional teaching blog last week. I signed the change.org petition and keep tweeting about it. I refuse to let people ignore it. It horrifies me that these girls were taken to begin with – and have still not been found.

    • Audrey
      May 13, 2014

      I signed that same petition! You’re so on it with spreading the word. The only way I’ve been able to feel we can truly help them right now is by speaking out and already it has made such a difference. Read today that the US has sent planes over to do air searches. Thank you lady, you encouraged me. :) Hugs!

  6. storiesbywilliams
    May 27, 2014

    More updates! Apparently, the girls have been found, Yaaaaay! But now it’s a question of how to bring them home. As usual, the bullshit piles up fast and you need wings to stay above it. And the ones who suffer most are the girls!

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/nigeria-says-it-has-found-missing-girls/2014/05/26/6a5b60e0-e524-11e3-a70e-ea1863229397_story.html?hpid=z1&utm_source=Sailthru&utm_medium=email&utm_term=*Situation%20Report&utm_campaign=MAY%2027%202014
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/05/27/nigeria_n_5396390.html?ref=topbar

    • Audrey
      June 3, 2014

      I saw this the other day. So awesome! I haven’t heard a lot of updates since. Sure, they probably shouldn’t go in there guns blazing, but I really hope they reach out to the U.S. or even U.N. to get some advice/help with the tactical stuff involved in a rescue.

      • storiesbywilliams
        June 3, 2014

        I had one thought. A prisoner exchange, followed by a full-scale onslaught! I’m sure the US drones can track the militant’s movements so they don’t escape into the jungle. Or just shoot in a Hellfire once the exchange is made and the girls are out of harms way!

      • Audrey
        June 3, 2014

        Gotta say, I like how you think!

      • storiesbywilliams
        June 3, 2014

        Thank you! I don’t mind getting all ruthless when it comes to dealing with scumbags!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 496 other followers

