Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Tasty Tuesdays: Astounding Alfredo

Don’t you just love digging into a heaping plate of creamy, comforting fettucine alfredo? Eating gluten-free and (mostly) dairy-free now I have days when I really miss alfredo. But those days of cravings are behind me now. Feast your eyes (and soon your taste buds) on this amazing feat of culinary fabulousness – gluten and dairy-free chicken penne alfredo! As decadent as the real thing, but healthy. Here we go…

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 35 minutes
Serves: 4

What you need:

  • 1 head cauliflower, roughly chopped
  • sea salt
  • 4 tbsp coconut oil, divided
  • 1 lbs chicken breast, diced (skip this for vegetarian)
  • 1 can coconut milk – I used lite coconut milk
  • juice of one lemon
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced/pressed
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1 1/2 c. gluten-free pasta

What you do:

Fill a 3 quart stock pot halfway with water. Add in 1 tbsp coconut oil and a pinch of sea salt. Bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce to medium and add in chopped cauliflower. Boil for 10-15 minutes, until cauliflower is tender. Drain the stock pot with cauliflower into a colander.

In a skillet over medium heat melt 1 tbsp of coconut oil. Add in chicken and cook through. Remove from heat.

Combine cauliflower, coconut milk, 2 tbsp coconut oil, lemon juice, garlic, and seasonings (including sea salt) to a food processor and pulse to blend well.

In stock pot bring water to a boil for the pasta. Add pinch of sea salt and 1 tbsp of coconut oil. When water reaches a rolling boil add pasta and cook according to packaging instructions. Drain pasta and return to stock pot.

Combine chicken and alfredo sauce with pasta in stock pot. Mix well, dish up, and enjoy!!

1186726_10152144730352221_1749027903_n

12 comments on “Tasty Tuesdays: Astounding Alfredo

  1. sunshinebright
    February 25, 2014

    Sounds really good. I was wondering about the coconut milk. Isn’t that loaded with cholesterol? Or is it so little that it wouldn’t matter? I’m curious about that, since I want to keep my cholesterol numbers at a good level. :-)

    • Audrey
      February 25, 2014

      I checked the supplement facts and it showed 0mg of cholesterol so I’m guessing it’s not an issue. :) I’ve heard good and bad things about the Omega 6 saturated fats in coconut products. But really it’s about everything in moderation, right? Hope you enjoy!!

  2. storiesbywilliams
    February 25, 2014

    So what we have here is a gluten-free, DAIRY-free Alfredo recipe, yes? Interesting. The wife and I do the former almost exclusively now when it comes to pastas, but I can’t imagine no Parmesan or Asiago. What about goat’s cheese? That work?

    • Audrey
      February 26, 2014

      The coconut milk lends a creamy element to it, but if you have some goat cheese around – I say go for it! A good chevre wouldn’t have the same texture as Parm or Asiago but I bet it would still be so yummy. Let me know how goes!

  3. susartandfood
    February 25, 2014

    Wow, this looks great. Have a friend who can only eat gluten free and dairy free – I’ll pass this on.

    • Audrey
      February 26, 2014

      Thanks for stopping by and passing the recipe along!

  4. Denise Hisey
    February 26, 2014

    I need a bib, I’m drooling!
    Going to print and try this!
    Thank you :-)

    • Audrey
      February 27, 2014

      Let me know how you like it!! :)

  5. betunada
    March 3, 2014

    now if only Betty was adhering to gluten-free instead-a carbo-non-hydration. still. THIS’d “do it” for me!

    • Audrey
      March 7, 2014

      Carbo-non-hydration? I’ve never heard of it. What’s she doing?

      • betunada
        March 7, 2014

        a pleigh awn werdZ; i wuzz tryin’ to infer NO CARBOHYDRATES! but she will do some carb stuff for me while she concentrates on dead animals and non-carb vegetables … (as you guessed, i was wishin’ she’d do stuff like that alfredo ! )

      • Audrey
        March 7, 2014

        Oh, got it! I’m still working on my second cup of coffee. Carb free is rough! I’m glad she’s letting you eat some other things. Are you still going vegetarian right now?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2014 by in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 512 other followers

