Dangerously Daydreaming

"All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible." ~ T. E. Lawrence

Courageous Love

I have a bone to pick today. Sometimes I think this holiday has stripped us of knowing what love really is. Valentine’s Day can bog us down with the message that we need a significant other to be significant. And lovers must give extravagant gifts in celebration. Its a bunch of rot. Love is so much more than this holiday gives it credit for.

I don’t want the kind of love that comes from a department store card, a jewelry store, or a box of chocolates. I don’t want the kind of love that requires grand gestures, perfect sunsets, or sandy beaches. I don’t want drug store love, bottled and sold as a farce of the real deal. I don’t want love that is obligatory.

I want love that wears worn work boots, love that labors daily to show itself. I want a love that washes the dishes, changes the oil, and bathes the dog. I want love that brings flowers home for no reason, that comes homes with a kiss on the forehead, asks how my day was, and really listens to the answer.

I want love that exists not merely because of a feeling, but because of daily choice and renewed commitment. I want love that lives out respect, patience, hope, kindness, gentleness, overcomes adversity. Courageous, honest, and open love.

I want love that is a phone call from far away, love that celebrates the joys, and weeps with me in hardship. I want love that chooses the interests of others above itself and love that is faithful and loyal in all things.

You can’t get it from a store and you can’t conjure it from an emotion. But with nurturing, commitment, and follow-through it will last through the ages.

I want to experience this love, but more importantly, I want to BE this love to others. It’s a choice I will make with each person I encounter to varying degrees. And my goal is to live it and celebrate it each day – in my marriage, in my friendships, in my family relationships.

Today can be a drag when you don’t think you have someone to celebrate with (I get that, I’ve been there). Instead of letting it bog you down, I encourage you to pour out your love into the people around you. It doesn’t take flowers, chocolates, or cards. Happy Valentine’s Day, guys. Let’s go out and love courageously.

13 comments on “Courageous Love

  1. Gede Prama
    February 14, 2014

    Thank you my friend, I am proud to be able to read the writing on your article!

    • Audrey
      February 18, 2014

      Thank you for reading! So glad you stopped by!

  2. sunshinebright
    February 14, 2014

    Very well said. It’s one thing to talk the talk, but to walk the walk is the true test!! :-)

    • Audrey
      February 18, 2014

      Exactly! It takes more effort but so worth it!!

  3. Susanne
    February 14, 2014

    This, my friend, is beautiful!

  4. Ad-libb3d
    February 15, 2014

    Beautifully written.

  5. whatimeant2say
    February 15, 2014

    I completely agree!

    • Audrey
      February 18, 2014

      I hope you and the Cap’n had a lovely Valentine’s Day. :)

  6. Denise Hisey
    February 16, 2014

    Well said! Love is a verb…best to show with our actions, not our wallets!

    • Audrey
      February 18, 2014

      YES!! You’ve put it perfectly, Denise!

  7. storiesbywilliams
    February 18, 2014

    Glad to hear this, because for Valentine’s, I made my wife coffee and breakfast, cleaned the kitchen, and then cooked her a dinner of homemade pizza. Course, I threw in some roses, but they were not the main attraction in the show!

    “I don’t want drug store love”. That could be a song :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 14, 2014 by in Changing the World, Holidays and tagged , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 494 other followers

